PM Modi thanks Tripura for reposing faith in BJP, hails ‘historic’ win in UP | Latest News India - Hindustan Times

Bypolls 2022 results: PM Modi thanks Tripura for reposing faith in BJP, hails 'historic' win in UP

By, New Delhi
Jun 26, 2022 06:14 PM IST

The prime minister also thanked those who voted for the party in Andhra Pradesh, Jharkhand, Delhi and Punjab, where it suffered losses.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday congratulated his Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) as it emerged victorious on five out of 10 seats – 3 Lok Sabha and 7 seven assembly – for which byelections were conducted on June 23, and counting of votes held today.

File photo of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. (ANI PHOTO.)
File photo of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. (ANI PHOTO.)

Click here for live updates on bypolls 2022 results

Unlock exclusive access to the story of India's general elections, only on the HT App. Download Now!

“I thank the people of Tripura for reposing faith in @BJP4Tripura's development agenda and blessing our candidates, including CM @DrManikSaha2Ji with wins in the by-polls. Our Government will continue fulfilling people’s aspirations. I laud our Karyakartas for their hardwork,” PM Modi, who is on a 3-day visit to Germany and the UAE, said in a tweet.

In Tripura, where the saffron party is in power, its candidates were victorious on three out of four assembly seats where bypolls were held: Town Bardowali (contested by chief minister Manik Saha), Surma and Jubarajnagar. The fourth, Agartala, was clinched by Sudip Roy Burman for the Congress; in February, Burman resigned as a BJP MLA and joined the Congress.

Also Read | Tripura bypoll results: CM Manik Saha wins key Bardowali seat by 6,104 votes

Meanwhile, in Uttar Pradesh, another BJP-ruled state, the party won the Lok Sabha constituencies of Azamgarh and Rampur, bastions of the opposition Samajwadi Party (SP). “The by-poll wins in Azamgarh and Rampur are historic. It indicates wide-scale acceptance and support for the double engine Governments at the Centre and in UP. Grateful to the people for their support. I appreciate the efforts of our Party Karyakartas. @BJP4UP,” tweeted prime minister Modi.

Also Read | UP bypolls: Yogi credits 'double engine' govt as BJP breaches SP strongholds Azamgarh, Rampur

PM Modi also had a message for the BJP's voters in the states where it suffered losses. “Gratitude to all those voted for @BJP4India in Andhra Pradesh, Jharkhand, Delhi and Punjab. We will keep working among the people and keep raising issues of public welfare,” he tweeted.

In Andhra Pradesh, the state's ruling YSRCP retained the Atmakur assembly seat, while Delhi's ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won the Rajinder Nagar constituency. In Jharkhand, the Congress, which is a member of the ruling coalition, retained the Mandar seat, while in Punjab, the Shiromani Akal Dal (Amritsar) clinched the Sangrur parliamentary seat.

Discover the complete story of India's general elections on our exclusive Elections Product! Access all the content absolutely free on the HT App. Download now!

Get Current Updates on India News, Lok Sabha election 2024 live, Election 2024 along with Latest News and Top Headlines from India and around the world.
Share this article

    Follow the latest breaking news and developments from India and around the world with Hindustan Times' newsdesk. From politics and policies to the economy and the environment, from local issues to national events and global affairs, we've got you covered.

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Tuesday, April 16, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On