Akali-BJP combine gains in Punjab, Cong in Haryana

PTI | ByIANS STORIES, Chandigarh
May 13, 2004 05:46 PM IST

The Akali Dal-Bharatiya Janata Party alliance is set to win the majority of Punjab's 13 parliamentary seats

The Akali Dal-Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) alliance was on Thursday set to win the majority of Punjab's 13 parliamentary seats while the Congress was headed to claim 9 of Haryana's 10 seats.

HT Image
HT Image

Pawan Kumar Bansal (Congress) had amassed a lead of over 43,000 votes over Satya Pal Jain (BJP) in the lone seat of Chandigarh, the common capital of Punjab and Haryana.

Stay tuned with breaking news on HT Channel on Facebook. Join Now

Central Minister of State for Home ID Swami lost to Arvind Sharma of the Congress from Karnal in Haryana.

Haryana Chief Minister Om Prakash Chautala's sons Ajay (Bhiwani) and Abhay (Kurukshetra) were headed for a defeat.

Industrialist Naveen Jindal was all set to bag the Kurukshetra seat while Bhiwani was expected to land in the Congress kitty.

Among the prominent Akali Dal-BJP winners in Punjab were central ministers Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa (Sangrur) and Vinod Khanna (Gurdaspur), Charanjit Singh Atwal (Phillaur) and cricketer Navjot Singh Sidhu (Amritsar).

Khanna defeated old rival and five-time MP Sukhbans Kaur Bhinder by nearly 35,000 votes.

First-time candidate Sidhu defeated six-time MP Raghunandan Lal Bhatia by over 70,000 votes.

Punjab's ruling Congress retained the Patiala seat when Preneet Kaur, wife of Chief Minister Amarinder Singh, defeated Kanwaljit Singh of the Akali Dal by over 22,000 votes.

Get Latest India News along with Latest News and Top Headlines from India and around the world
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Sunday, December 10, 2023
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now