Balaji ruled out of ICC Trophy | Latest News India - Hindustan Times

Balaji ruled out of ICC Trophy

PTI | ByPress Trust of India, London
Sep 11, 2004 11:20 AM IST

India received another setback when Balaji was ruled out of the tourney following abdominal strain. His replacement is not yet decided.

India received another set back today when medium pacer Laxmipathy Balaji was ruled out of the ICC Champions Trophy after suffering an abdominal strain.

HT Image
HT Image

"We have asked the Board for a replacement on Balaji this morning," informed captain Sourav Ganguly on the eve of India's opening clash against Kenya here.

Now catch your favourite game on Crickit. Anytime Anywhere. Find out how

"We have left it to the Board to decide on who they want to send as a replacement."

Ganguly said the Board might choose anyone who has done well on India A team's tour to Zimbabwe or Zaheer Khan "depending on how fit he is."

Ganguly said Balaji was given an injection in London on September 7 but his condition "has not improved at all since then."

Balaji is the second key member of the team to be ruled out after Sachin Tendulkar who had to withdraw because of a tennis elbow.

Get World Cup ready with Crickit! From live scores to match stats, catch all the action here. Explore now!

See more

Get Current Updates on India News, Budget 2024, Weather Today along with Latest News and Top Headlines from India and around the world.

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Thursday, June 20, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On