Bijoya Chakravarty

Updated on Apr 27, 2004 01:58 PM IST

Working as an educationalist in Assam, her campaigning for women's rights have also lead to her political arrest.

HT Image
HT Image

Born in Baligaon, Jorhat on the 7th October 1939, Chakravarty graduated from Hindu University in Uttar Pradesh with an MA in English. She is a candidate of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) from the constituency of Guwahati in Assam. 

Chakravarty has worked as an educationalist and organized various training camps for women, notably in her hometown of Assam. She has taken part in many social campaigns for women, some of which have lead to her arrest.

She married Shri Jiten Chakravarty on the 1 June 1965 with whom she has one son and daughter.  
Political Positions Held:
1977-78          District Secretary, BJP, Mangaldai Branch, Assam 
1986-92          Member, Rajya Sabha 
                      Deputy Leader, Rajya Sabha 
1986-87          Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Tourism 
1987-89          Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of  Food
1988-90          Member, Committee on Rules, Rajya Sabha 
1990-91          Member, Committee on Subordinate Legislation 
                      Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Home Affairs 
1991-92          Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Natural Gas
1999               Elected to 13th Lok Sabha 
13 Oct. 1999-   Minister of State, Water Resources 
Did You Know:

Chakravarty is a keen writer, with an array of short stories, novels and poems to her name. She used to work as a freelance journalist and has contributed articles on national, international, social and political issues under the pen name, "B.C." As a regular columnist in Assam Tribune she wrote more than two hundred feature articles and write-ups on current affairs from 1964 to 1968.


Associated with Praja Socialist Party, 1965-77
Secretary, District Mahila Samiti, Mangaldai, 1969-75
Writers Association, 1976-81
Election Result of Guwahati Lok Sabha Constituency
Total electorate                                           13,54,869
Total votes polled                                          8,58,028
Poll percentage                                                63.33%
Valid votes                                                    8,37,428

Votes polled in favour of the first four leading candidates:

(1) Smt. Bijoya Chakravarty          (BJP)      3,84,771     45.81% 
(2) Shri Bhubaneswar Kalita          (INC)      3,09,533     37.22% 
(3) Shri Durga Das Boro                (INC)     1,17,424     14.10% 
(4) Ms. Suniti Sonowal                 (NCP)       13,162       1.58%

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Sunday, December 04, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals