Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 19, 2018-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Cong to release 197 names today

The Congress that has cleared the names of 197 candidates out of the 200 Assembly seats in Rajasthan, will announce the list on Monday, writes Sandipan Sharma.

india Updated: Nov 10, 2003 16:49 IST

The Congress has cleared the names of 197 candidates for the Assembly elections in Rajasthan. The party’s first list of candidates is expected on Monday.

The party has reserved its decision on only three seats. One of these seats is Jhalrapatan, from where BJP chief Vasundhara Raje is to contest. Since the Congress is planning to field Ram Kishan Verma against the BJP chief, it has also held back its decision on Verma’s Ramganj Mandi seat. Verma is demanding that he be fielded from both the constituencies. The other seat on which a decision is pending is Pushkar.

The party has replaced nearly 20 MLAs, five of them with their relatives. The number is much lower than expected. The axe of the party has fallen mainly on Scheduled Caste, Muslim and Brahmin candidates. The party seems to have bowed down in front of the Jats.

None of the Jat MLAs except Rajendra Singh Chowdhary who has been shunted out to accommodate Natwar Singh’s son, have been replaced. The Congress has in fact increased the number of Jat candidates.

The MLAs who are not likely to be repeated include Taqiuddin Ahmed, Chandrashekhar, Jaidev Prasad Indoria, Ashok Tanwar, Aad Ram Meghwal, Abdul Aziz, Bhagraj Chaudhary, Mohan Lal Rathore, Madhu Dadheech, Ghasilal Meghwal, Atmaram Meghwal, Nanuram Kankrolia, Kamla Meena, Govardhan Kalla, Rajendra Singh Chowdhary, Chandan Mal Baid, Naval Kishore Sharma, Parasram Maderna, and Sahdev Sharma.

Three former MPs, Narendra Budania, Shankar Pannu and Uday Lal Anjana have been given party tickets. Udai Singh Rathore (Bani Park), RC Shah (Hawa Mahal), Brij Sundar Sharma (Jaipur rural), Shah Ikramuddin, (Johari Bazaar) and Mahesh Joshi (Kishanpole) are the Congress candidates for the five seats of Jaipur city. The party has retained Indira Mayaram and Kamla for the other two important seats of Sanganer and Bairath in Jaipur district.

A Mumbai-based builder Maqbool Mandalia would take on BJP heavyweight Rajendra Rathore in Churu. Budania is the Congress candidate against Hari Shankar Bhabhra. Trilok Purabia has been given the ticket against Gulab Chand Kataria in Udaipur city. In Jaisalmer, Govardhan Kalla has been replaced by Fateh Mohhamnad. Usha Meena has axed out Kamla from Sapotra. Anjana has taken over from Dadheech in Nimbahera and Pannu has been given the ticket in place of Aad Ram Meghwal from Tibi.

First Published: Nov 10, 2003 16:49 IST