Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 11, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Delhi BJP petitions Prez against 19 Cong MLAs

The BJP in Delhi has petitioned President APJ Abdul Kalam for disqualification of 19 Congress MLAs.

india Updated: Mar 28, 2006 22:50 IST

The Opposition BJP in Delhi on Tuesday petitioned President APJ Abdul Kalam for disqualification of 19 Congress MLAs and one MP on the grounds that they occupied offices of profit under the NCT government.

BJP MLA from Saket Vijay Jolly submitted a petition before the President in which he called for disqualification of the MLAs because of their appointment as chairpersons of various Delhi District level Development Committees under the Sheila Dikshit Government.

"Dikshit has set up a two-tier structure comprising an apex committee and nine District Development Committees. All these MLAs receive substantial salaries, allowances, government vehicles and incur huge expenditure running into crores of rupees resulting in huge financial burden on residents of Delhi," Jolly told a press conference.

Some of the prominent Delhi leaders named in the petition are Naseeb Singh as Parliamentary Secretary to Dikshit, Narendra Nath as Chairman Delhi Trans Yamuna Board, Mateen Ahmad as Chairman Delhi Wakf Board and Anjali Rai as Vice Chairperson Delhi Jal Board.

Jolly said the Dikshit Government was likely to lose its majority if these MLAs would be disqualified by the President.

The lone MP to be accused of holding an office of profit is Sajjan Kumar who chaired the Delhi Rural Development Committee, which he had to vacate after he was indicted by the Nanavati Commission for his alleged role in the 1984 Sikh riots.

Jolly refused to comment on fellow party leader VK Malhotra who recently received a notice from Delhi High Court in the 'office of profit' issue, as the matter was subjudice.

First Published: Mar 28, 2006 21:15 IST