Hockey players reject Rs 25,000 cash award
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 19, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Hockey players reject Rs 25,000 cash award

Dejected by the reward offered to the Indian hockey team after winning the Asian Champions Trophy, players refused to accept Rs 25,000 per player cash reward offered to them by Hockey India for their latest feat.

india Updated: Sep 14, 2011 16:10 IST
Indian hockey team,hockey,Ajay Maken

The Indian hockey team on Wednesday rejected Hockey India's cash reward for winning the inaugural Asian Champions Trophy, saying the paltry amount of Rs 25000 each was not proper recognition of their achievement.

During a felicitation ceremony at the Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium last evening, the players were offered the
reward but they outrightly rejected it.

"We were offered Rs 25,000 each by HI Secretary General Narinder Batra as reward for winning the Asian Champions
Trophy but we all refused to take it because it a very small reward considering our achievement," senior player Gurbaz
Singh said.

Players celebrate with the winners trophy after defeating Pakistan, during their finals match at the first Asian Men's Hockey Championship in Ordos.

Gurbaz said it was not possible to draw youngsters to the game with such rewards. "We did not expect such a small amount as reward, considering the fact that hockey is our national game. If such things continue, there will be a day when there will be very few kids interested in playing hockey. They would rather opt for cricket or any other individual sport," he added.

Another member of the victorious team said that such a meagre reward did not come as a surprise to him. "These things are not new in Indian hockey. Now we are used to such step-motherly behavior. This doesn't make any difference," the player said on condition of anonymity.

India won the Asian Champions Trophy by defeating arch-rivals Pakistan 4-2 via shoot out in the summit clash.

In comparison

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) awarded the 2011 World Cup-winning Indian cricket team Rs one crore for each player.
New Delhi Chief Minister Sheil Dikshit awarded Rs 2 crore to captain MS Dhoni and 1 crore each for four Delhi players.
Maharashtra Chief Minister Prithviraj Chauhan announced award of Rs one crore each for Sachin Tendulkar and Zaheer Khan, who hail from the state.
Punjab Deputy Chief Minister Sukhbir Singh Badal said Harbhajan Singh and Yuvraj Singh will be given a cash award of Rs one crore.
Karnataka Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa announced his government would honour the victorious cricket players with a residential plot each from the Bangalore Development Authority (BDA).
Uttarakhand Chief Minister Ramesh Pokhrayal Nishank promised a residential plot or a house in Mussoorie hill station for Dhoni and Sachin Tendulkar, who has been a regular visitor there with his family. He also announced that a stadium will be built in the state to be named after Dhoni.
Gujarat Government announced its highest sports honour Eklavya Award for Yousuf Pathan and Munaf Patel. The award carries Rs one lakh and a citation.

First Published: Sep 14, 2011 11:28 IST