Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 13, 2018-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Honour for Benegal, Kavita

Shyam Benegal and Kavita Krishnamurthy would be conferred the Kishore Kumar and Lata Mangeshkar awards respectively.

india Updated: Apr 06, 2006 19:26 IST

Film-maker Shyam Benegal will be conferred the Kishore Kumar award and singer Kavita Krishnamurthy the Lata Mangeshkar award by the Madhya Pradesh government, officials said.

The awards instituted by the state government carry Rs1,00,000 each and a citation.

"The National Kishore Kumar Award for year 2005-06 would be conferred on eminent film director Shyam Benegal and the National Lata Mangeshkar Award will go to noted playback singer Kavita Krishnamurthy," said Minister of State for Culture Laxmikant Sharma.

"The Kishore Kumar award is given for direction, acting, script writing and lyrics while the Lata Mangeshkar award is given for singing and music direction," he said.

Benegal has been active in film direction for the last four decades and has carved a niche for himself in this field. He has given classics like Ankur, Manthan, Nishant, Mandi, Sardari Begum and Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose which set him apart from others, said Sharma. His serials Bharat Ek Khoj and Yatra are landmark works. He has also picturised movies like Charandas Chor and Samar in Madhya Pradesh.

Kavita Krishnamurthy has been singing for Hindi and south Indian films for close to three decades. The songs she has sung for films like Sursangam, Mr India, Akhiri Rasta, Saudagar, Khamoshi, Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam and Devdas are great hits, he said.

The awards would be given away in the first week of May, said an official.

The Lata Mangeshkar award was started in 1984 and the Kishore Kumar award in 1997.

First Published: Apr 04, 2006 15:18 IST