Indians set 3 new SAF Games records
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 17, 2019-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Indians set 3 new SAF Games records

Tejaswini Varadaraju won the 200m Individual Medley Gold in swimming, clocking 2:28.78 in Colombo.

india Updated: Aug 21, 2006 12:16 IST

Records plopped and plonked in the pool as Indian swimmers set three new meet records on their way to win six Gold medals in the 10th SAF Games at the Sugathadasa Indoor Stadium in Colombo on Sunday.

Tejaswini Varadaraju won the 200m Individual Medley Gold, clocking 2:28.78 which erased the previous record of 2:29.01 which was created by compatriot Richa Mishra in Islamabad two years ago.

Sri Lankan Mayumi Rahim (2:30.98) won Silver while the Bronze went to Pakistani Rida Sabahat (2:51.18) who came a distant third.

Sandeep Sejwal also set a new SAF record in mens 100m breaststroke with an impressive timing of 1:07.73, that eclipsed fellow Indian Puneet Ranas Islamabad mark of 1:03.93.

Shahjahan Ali of Bangladesh got Silver with 1:08.08 while compatriot Md Niaz Ali finished with Bronze at 1:10.34.

India's Fariha Zaman also got her name in the record book with her Gold winning effort of 1:09.05 in the women's 100m backstroke. She thus erased another Indian, Sumi Chiac's, 1:10.16 mark, set up in 2004.

Pakistani Kiran Khan won the Silver with 1:09.76, while India's Kishipa Mahajan finished with the Bronze (1:11.79).

In men's 50m freestyle, Varun Divgikar's 23.97s was good enough for the Gold though he failed to erase Seabstian Xavier's more than decade-old record of 23.89. Sri Lankan Daniel Lee won the Silver (25.07) as a distant second, while Nazrul Islam of Bangladesh bagged the Bronze at 25.41.

In women's 800m freestyle, India's Surabhi Tipre clocked a less-than-impressive 9:39.60 even though that fetched her the Gold while fellow Indian Pooja Alva came second at 9:41.92. Local favourites Imara Fahim won the Bronze timing 10:21.95.

The Indian quintet of Arpana Magdum, Neeraja Balakrishna, Parita Parekh and Lekha Kamath too looked far from impressive even though the 4:08.72 timing was good enough for the Gold. Sri Lanka won the Silver in this event, while Pakistan bagged the Bronze.

Meanwhile, Rehan Poncha's record-breaking effort of 2:11.33 in the men's 200m backstroke could not fetch him the Gold and he had to be satisfied with a Silver as Sri Lankan Andrew Abeysinghe(2:07.97) came up with a better show for the Gold. Rohit Havaldar (2:13.40) settled for the Bronze.

Meanwhile, Aneesa Sayyed completed a Golden double as Indian markwomen grabbed both the Gold up for grabs on Sunday.

Aneesa shot 553 in the preliminary and then fired 196.6 in the final to total 749.6 to bag the individual Gold. Sri Lankan duo of Damayanthi Wijerathne (739.5) and Hemantha Wijisinghe (736.6) won the Silver and Bronze respectively, Indian markswoman Shilpi Singh (734.8) missed out on a medal by whisker.

Later, Aneesa (553), Shilpi (545) and Nausheen Fathima (544) joined hands to win the team gold totalling 1642, ahead of a Sri Lankan team which bagged the Silver with 1633. Indian women paddlers, meanwhile, had to toil in the middle before edging out hosts Sri Lanka 3-2 for the Gold, Nepal and Pakistan won Bronze in the event.

Meanwhile, Indian shuttlers stormed into the final of both the men and women events, decimating their semifinal opponents in similar manner.

In the men's section, Chetan Anand, Nikhil Kanetkar and Thomas Kurien won their singles matches against lowly Nepal in straight games while the Akshay Diwalkar-Jishnu Sanyal and Sanave Thomas-V Diju pairs won their doubles matches without dropping a single game.

In women's section, Indian eves meted out the same treatment to the Nepalese girls, blanking them 5-0.

Trupti Murgunde, BR Meenakshi and Krishna D Raja won their singles matches in straight games while Oli Deka-Aparna Balan and Gutta Jwala-Shruti Kurien pairs also won without conceding any game.

First Published: Aug 21, 2006 03:41 IST