Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 23, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Mumbai XI pips IOC in Ambedkar cup

The gutsy Mumbai XI, measuring up to their past reputation, beat gritty IOC 4-2 in a tie-breaker and stormed into the last four stage of the tournament.

india Updated: Aug 11, 2006 12:14 IST
United News of India
United News of India

The gutsy Mumbai XI, measuring up to their past reputation, beat gritty Indian Oil Corporation Limited (IOC) 4-2 in a tie-breakerand stormed into the last four stage of the Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar memorial gold cup hockey tournament in Pune on Thursday.

Earlier, Tamil Nadu XI blanked Madhya Bharat 3-0, while Uttar Pradesh disposed of MEG Bangalore 3-1 and Hyderabad XI huffed and puffed before getting the better of Karnataka XI 6-4 via the tie-break shoot out after the rivals were locked 2-2 in the regulation time.

The semi-final line up has thus been drawn up as Tamil Nadu XI takes on Uttar Pradesh, while Mumbai XI locks horn with Hyderabad XI.

In an evenly poised quarterfinal tie between Mumbai XI and IOC which was played under intermittent drizzle, the rivals failed to settle the issue in the regulation time, remaining scoreless.

The Mumbai boys held the slight edge over their expereinced opponent IOC having forced four penalty corners, but failed to give meaning to any of them. They also had some glit-edged chances coming their way but their frontliners fumbled missing the target narrowly.

Likewise, the IOC who took time to settle down also had their misfortune as their fleet-footed inside right A B Cheranna and Sunder Singh after making inroads into the rival defence could not provide the finishing touches to their efforts. Hence they were locked the goaless draw in the regulation time.

In the resultant tie-breaker, the Mumbai XI showed better marksmanship scoring four goals via Naved Ali, Nilesh Mane, Stanley Fernandes and Mohammed Tariq. Hemanth Gethe missed the goal post.

On the other hand, IOC could score one each via Diwakar Ram and Prem Kumar, while Bharat Chikaria and A B Chikaria failed with the scoop.

In yet another tight match, Hyderabad pulled the rugs under the feet of Karnataka after being locked 2-2 in the regulation time.

Hyderabad drew the first blood through the solo efforts of inside right K K Bharat in the 26th minute to lead 1-0 at the breather. Bharat added another goal in the 54th minute unleashing a rasping drive from the top of the circle.

Karnataka fought back through inside left Kalappa in the 56th minute, who after getting past hosts of defenders, sounded the boards. Navin Shekhar restored parity scoring following a penalty corner 2-2 all.

In the tie-breaker, Hyderabad scored via Mohammed Aleem, Veer Singh Dung Dung and K K Bharat. The rivals reduced the margin through Kalappa and Pavan Joseph.

Uttar Pradesh dominated the proceedings to sent MEG Bangalore packing 3-1. Playing a well-knit and cohesive game UP went ahead in the very fifth minute through inside left Brijesh, who provided the finish with a reverse flick in the fifth minute.

Dhirender Kumar made it 2-0 in the 37th minute converting a penalty corner while inside right Pramod Kumar made no mistake after centre forward Mohsin Ali did the spade work in the 50th minute to make the issue safe.

MEG Bangalore put one back through a penalty corner conversion through Maruthu Pandiyan in the 27th minute.

Tamil Nadu got past the Madhya Bharat defence. They scored in the second minute when Jhonson Edward scored follwing the penalty corner inside right. Satya R made it 2-0 in the 24th minute and Sudarshan S made it 3-0. He made no mistake with the penalty corner awarded in the 27th minute.

Training 0-3 Madhya Bharat forced six panelty corners on the change over but all proved abortive. Gyanender Singh and Yogesh Mohr tried hard to reduce the margin but in vain.

Fixtures for Friday (semi-finals): Tamil Nadu vs Uttar Pradesh at 1400 hrs.

First Published: Aug 11, 2006 12:14 IST