Pawar elected unopposed for 2-year term

The 77th AGM of BCCI is set to be a tame affair after reigning president and his three other confidantes were declared elected unopposed.

india Updated: Oct 09, 2006 14:43 IST

The 77th Annual General Meeting of the Indian Cricket Board startingon Wednesdayis set to be a tame affair after reigning President Sharad Pawar and his three other confidantes were declared elected unopposed for a two-year term on Wednesday.

Union Agriculture Minister and Mumbai Cricket Association president Pawar, secretary Niranjan Shah of Saurashtra, joint secretary M P Pandove of Punjab and treasurer N Srinivasan of Tamil Nadu were declared elected without the need for any election, Shah announced on the eve of the two-day AGM.

"All the four have been elected unopposed. The five vice-presidents (one each from the five zones constituting the BCCI) would be elected on the floor of the house tomorrow as per the practice," Shah said.

All the elected office bearers, plus the senior and junior selection committees that would be constituted on the floor of the house on Wednesday, would have a two-year term following an amendment to the BCCI constitution earlier this year.

Tuesday's development was on expected lines given the brute majority enjoyed by Pawar and the ruling group as against a decimated opposition led by former BCCI and ICC chief Jagmohan Dalmiya who is not even able to attend the meeting after having been suspended on allegations of misappropriating PILCOM accounts.

Dalmiya, who won a much-publicised election of Cricket Association of Bengal to retain his post as President recently despite severe opposition from the state's chief minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharya, has effectively been stymied by the Pawar group, led from the forefront by Rajasthan Cricket Association chief Lalit Modi and Punjab Association President Inderjit Singh Bindra.

This, incidentally, is the first AGM being missed by the CAB chief in almost a quarter of a century.

With there being no need for elections to the main posts, the rest of the items on the agenda of the AGM tomorrow are likely to be completed within one day, Shah said.

The focus would then shift to the national selection panel which is to be reconstituted.

Dilip Vengsarkar is tipped to replace chairman Kiran More (West Zone) who has completed his term along with South Zone representative V B Chandrasekhar.

Three other members of the outgoing committee - North's Bhupinder Singh Sr, East's Ranjib Biswal and Central's Sanjay Jagdale - are expected to retain their posts.

The AGM would take up the reports of the various sub committees for the year, pass annual accounts and reports and budget for the next year, apart from constituting various sub-committees like selection committees (senior and junior), Finance, Marketing, Umpires, Technical etc.

"Generally the performance of the Indian team does not come under review at the AGMs," said Shah when specifically queried whether it would be discussed at the meeting.

First Published: Sep 26, 2006 18:18 IST