Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 21, 2018-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

South take on Central in Deodhar Trophy

A keen tussle is in offing as South Zone take on beleaguered Central in the Deodhar Trophy league match at Jaipur on Friday.

india Updated: Mar 02, 2006 22:15 IST

A keen tussle is in offing as well balanced South Zone take on beleagured Central in the Deodhar Trophy limited overs crikcet league match at the Sawai Mansingh stadiumin Jaipuron Friday.

South Zone have four points in their kitty from one outing while the hosts are yet to open their account after two matches.

The match between the two teams will be a crucial one as a victory here would keep South in the hunt for title while Central will be playing for their pride.

South Zone K Jaswant said that his players were raring to go.

"We have a decently balanced side with Indian player Venugopala Rao leading the pack and veteran Hemang Badani lending the experience to the team," Jaswant said.

"Players like Dinesh Kaarthick, V Yomahesh who had a decent time in the ICC under-19 World Cup are too keen to show their mettle."

Kaarthick praised Mahendra Singh Dhoni, to whom he lost out the Test wicketkeeper's slot, but said he too can make a come back.

"My job is to perform consistently. I am working hard and have never given up hope," said Kaarthick.

"We have been bowling well but batting has failed miserably including my self," India international and captain JP Yadav said.

"Gagan Khoda is facing a hamstring problem and we might play Sameer Khare instead of Amit Pagnis.

"We might be out of the race for title but still we could fight for second spot. We shall fight hard to force a victory and salvage some pride after two consecutive defeats."

In another match, North Zone play West at Udaipur on Friday.

Meanwhile, the East zone team sans Sourav Ganguly and Rohan Gavaskar sweated out at the nets.

East take on Central here on March 6.

The teams (from):

Central Zone: J P Yadav (captain), Tejinder Pal Singh, Devendra Bundela, Abbas Ali, Naman Ojha, Ravikant Shukla, Gagan Khoda, Murali Karthik, Harvinder Singh, Ratnesh Mishra, Shivakant Shukla, M S Acharya, Sameer Khare, Praveen Kumar, Amit Pagnis.

South Zone: Venugopal Rao (captain), Hemang Badani, Robin Uthappa, S Suresh, Vidyut Sivaramakrishnan, Y Gnaneswara Rao, C Raghu, B Akhil, V Yomahesh, R Vinay Kumar, Robin D'Souza, P Indra Kumar Reddy, Dinesh Kaarthick, Kalyan Krishna, S Badrinath.

First Published: Mar 02, 2006 22:15 IST