Tamil literatteurs honoured

None | ByUNI, Chennai
Feb 17, 2006 12:41 PM IST

The Department of Post is going to release commemorative stamps honouring four literatteurs.

The Department of Posts will release commemorative stamps in honour of four Tamil literatteurs on February 18.

HT Image
HT Image

The stamps on Devaneya Pavanar, Tamilavel Umamaheswarar, Thirumuruga Kirubananda Variyar and U V Swaminatha Iyer would be released by Union Communication and Information Technology Minister Dayanidhi Maran, a PIB release said here yesterday.

Devaneya Pavanar, born on February 7, 1902, was prominent in the annals of 20th century Tamil literature. He wrote over 35 books, which provided insight into variety of facts and highlighted the significant contributions made by various literary stalwarts.

His masterpieces included Oppiyal Mozhi Nool and Verchol Katturaigal.

The great Tamil scholar, Tamilavel Umamaheshwarar, born on May 7, 1883, was known for his unquestionable honesty and integrity.

He advocated upgradation of Tamil language by incorporating certain elements of other languages and his efforts resulted in the founding of Karanthai Tamil Sangam, which was instrumental in the revival of Tamil as a medium of literary expression.

Thirumuruga Kirubananda Variyar was a legendary thinker, who was born on August 25, 1906. He had special interest in the teaching of Vallalar and founded the journal, Tiruppugashamirtham.

Dr U V Swaminatha Iyer, popularly known as 'Tamizh Thattha,' was born on February 19, 1855. He made outstanding contributions to the enriching of the Tamil language. He published Perunkathai, an epic of considerable literary merit.

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Saturday, March 25, 2023
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals