Thakur Gulab Singh: A Congressman turned BJP leader

Feb 20, 2003 01:01 PM IST

Son of late Shri Lal Singh, Thakur Gulab Singh was born on May 29, 1948 at Village Majharnu, Tehsil Joginder Nagar in Mandi district.

Son of late Shri Lal Singh, Thakur Gulab Singh was born on May 29, 1948 at Village Majharnu,  Tehsil Joginder Nagar in Mandi district.

HT Image
HT Image

B.A and LLB, he received education at Panjab University, Chandigarh. He got married in 1972 to Hema Devi and was later blessed with one son and three daughters.

An advocate by profession, he is an active social worker.

He had been a member of Janata Party (1977-80) and Indian National Congress (1980 to March 30, 1998). Later he again joined Congress but has once again switched loyalties and joined BJP whose support had made him the speaker of Himachal Assembly after previous Assembly polls.

He had also been a member of the Committee on Land Reform (HP), DRUC Northern Railway, National Institute  of Rural Development, Social Audit  Panel which is the apex body of the Ministry  of Communications and Postal Department to suggest and advise the Ministry besides being an active member of the Legislative Assembly 1977-82, 1982-85, 1990-92, 1993-98 and March 1998 onwards.

He had also been a Minister of  State for Panchayat and Prison Welfare (May 18, 1979 to Feb 14, 1980), Co-operation and Education (May 1982 to May 1983), Civil Supplies and Co-operation (1984-85), Cabinet Minister for Revenue (Dec 1993 to March 1998).

Elected to the House for the fifth term in March, 1998.  Soon after  he  was   elevated/elected to the Office of Speaker on March 30, 1998.

Awards          :    Recipient  of the  prestigious  "Vijaya  Shree
                        Award",    awarded    by   the   International
                        Friendship Society of India(IFSI) In 1996,from 
                        amongst  distinguished  personalities  in  the 
                        field   of   Science,   technology  education,
                        politics  etc.  for  excellence   in     their
                        respective fields.
Permanent Address:  Village Majharnu,
                        P.O. & Teh. Joginder Nagar,
                        District Mandi, 
                        Himachal Pradesh.

Election Result:- 

Electorate      :       53652           
Votes Polled    :       37522 (69.94%)
Votes Rejected  :         285 (00.76%)

 Sr.    Name of the Candidate   Political   Votes          Percentage
 No.                            Party       Obtained       Obtained
 1.     Shri Kishori Lal        CPM           180           (00.483)
 2.     Col. Ganga Ram Jamwal   BJP         12171           (32.685)
 3.     Shri Gulab Singh        INC         13862           (37.226)
  4.     Shri Dewan Chand        BSP           862           (02.315)
 5.     Shri Rattan Lal         HVC          6315           (16.959)
 6.     Shri Ram Chand          AIRJP         176           (00.473)
 7.     Shri Khazan Singh       IND          3562           (09.566)
 8.     Shri Sonu Ram           IND           109           (00.293)

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Sunday, March 26, 2023
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals