Lok Sabha election 2019: BJP has not lost Bharuch seat since 1989

Updated on Apr 16, 2019 01:11 PM IST

The BJP has not lost a parliamentary election at Bharuch Lok Sabha seat since 1989.

BJP’s Mansukh Vasava is the four-time sitting MP from Bharuch.
BJP’s Mansukh Vasava is the four-time sitting MP from Bharuch.
Hindustan Times | ByHT Correspondent

The Bharuch Lok Sabha seat is one of the 26 parliamentary constituencies in Gujarat, which will vote on April 23, the third of the seven-phased general elections. Bharuch has been a stronghold of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party for two decades.

The BJP has retained Bharuch Lok Sabha seat over the last nine parliamentary elections beginning 1989, when it snatched this constituency from the Congress.

Senior Congress party leader Ahmed Patel was elected from Bharuch in the Lok Sabha three consecutive times in 1977, 1980 and 1984 elections.

Mansukhbhai Vasava of the BJP is the four-time sitting MP from Bharuch, which is an industrial district of Gujarat. Bharuch Lok Sabha constituency comprises of seven Gujarat assembly segments, two of which are reserved for the members of Scheduled Tribe community.

The assembly segments under the Bharuch Lok Sabha constituencies are, Bharuch, Karjan, Dediapada (ST), Jambusar, Vagra, Jhagadia (ST) and Ankleshwar.

Name of Constituency: Bharuch, Gujarat

Date of polling: April 23

2019 candidates: Mansukhbhai Dhanjibhai Vasava (BJP), Sherkhan Pathan (Congress), Vasava Rajeshbhai (BSP)

Sitting MP, Party: Mansukhbhai Dhanjibhai Vasava, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 1,53,273

Runner up name, party (2014): Jayeshbhai Ambalalbhai Patel (Jayesh Kaka), Indian National Congress

Total number of voters in 2014: 1,061,060

Votes polled in 2014 elections: 82 per cent

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,725

Number of women voters: 4,95,543

Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Tuesday, December 06, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals