Lok Sabha election 2019: Gujarat’s Dahod seat is an old Congress bastion that BJP controls

Updated on Apr 16, 2019 02:05 PM IST

The BJP won the Dahod Lok Sabha seat for the first time in 1999. The seat had remained with the Congress even in 1977 parliamentary polls.

Jaswantsinh Bhabhor of the BJP is the sitting MP from Dahod Lok Sabha seat in Gujarat.
Jaswantsinh Bhabhor of the BJP is the sitting MP from Dahod Lok Sabha seat in Gujarat.
Hindustan Times | ByHT Correspondent

The Dahod Lok Sabha constituency in Gujarat is reserved for the members of Scheduled Tribe community. Dahod will go to the polls on April 23 along with rest 25 Lok Sabha constituencies in Gujarat. It is the Lok Sabha constituency number 19 in the state.

This constituency was a Congress pocket-borough till 1999 Lok Sabha election when the BJP won this seat for the first time. The Congress had won this seat even at the height anti-Indra Gandhi wave in 1977.

The BJP has won the Dahod parliamentary seat three times since 1999 while the Congress could manage to secure victory in this constituency in 2009, when the United Progressive Alliance (UPA) had won second consecutive term at the Centre.

Jasvantsinh Bhabhorof the BJP had defeated Dr Prabhaben Taviyad in 2014, when the BJP had won all the 26 Lok Sabha seats in Gujarat.

There are seven assembly segments under the Dahod Lok Sabha seat. Six of these assembly constituencies are reserved for the ST community candidate. These assembly segments are Santrampur (ST), Fatepura (ST), Jhalod (ST), Limkheda (ST), Dahod (ST), Garbada (ST) and Devgadbaria.

Name of constituency: Dahod, Gujarat

Date of polling: April 23

2019 candidates: Katara Babubhai Khimabhai (Congress), Jashvantsinh Sumanbhai Bhabhor (BJP) and Bhabhor Dhulabhai Ditabhai (BSP)

Sitting MP, Party: Jaswantsinh Sumanbhai Bhabhor, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 2,30,354

Name of runner-up candidate: Dr Prabhaben Kishorsinh Taviyad, Congress

Total number of voters in 2014: 9,01,435

Votes polled in 2014 elections: 75 per cent

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,650

Number of women voters: 4,30,922

Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Sunday, November 27, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals