The TDP has renominated Maganti Venkateswara Rao from the Eluru Lok Sabha seat.(HT PHOTO)
The TDP has renominated Maganti Venkateswara Rao from the Eluru Lok Sabha seat.(HT PHOTO)

Lok Sabha election 2019: Regional powerhouses jockey for Eluru seat in Andhra Pradesh

The TDP has renominated its sitting MP Maganti Venkateswara Rao from Eluru bu faces a tough challenge from the YSRCP and the Jana Sena Party.
Hindustan Times, New Delhi | By HT Correspondent
UPDATED ON APR 11, 2019 10:19 AM IST

Eluru Lok Sabha constituency in Andhra Pradesh is spread across West Godavari and Krishna districts and had seen close contests between the Telegu Desam Party (TDP) and the Congress in the past. It is one of the 15 out of the state’s 25 Lok Sabha seats that the TDP won in 2014.

TDP’s Maganti Venkateswara Rao, a chemistry professor, romped home in 2014 defeating Thota Chandra Shekhar by over one lakh votes as the Congress faded away in the contest.

This year too, the contest is expected to be between the TDP and the YSRCP although Jana Sena Party has made inroads as well.

The TDP has re-nominated Maganti Venkateswara Rao for the seat while the YSRCP has named Kotagiri Sridharas its candidate this time in Eluru. The Jana Sena Party has named economist Pentapati Pulla Rao as its candidate for the seat.

Eluru is well known for its wool carpets and hand woven products.

According to the of 2011 census, out of a total population of 2,002,658, 84.55% is rural and 15.45% is urban population. The Scheduled castes (SC) and Scheduled tribes (ST) ratio is 22.01 and 6.09, respectively out of total population.

Eluru Lok Sabha constituency in numbers:

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Eluru

Reservation nature of constituency: General

2019 candidates: Chinnam Ramkotaya (BJP); Jettl Gurunadha Rao (Congress); Siva Prasad (TDP); Kotagiri Sridhar (YSR)

Date of polling: April 11

Sitting MP, Party: Maganti Venkateswara Rao, TDP

Winning margin in 2014: 101,926 votes

Runner up name, party: Thota Chandra Shekhar, YSRC

Number of voters in 2014: 1,427,760

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 84

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,544

Number of women voters: 720,844

Story Saved