Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 25, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Darbhanga constituency in Bihar

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Sitting MP Kirti Azad has recently joined Congress and BJP has this time fielded Gopal Jee Thakur

lok sabha elections Updated: Apr 23, 2019 14:31 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Darbhanga Lok Sabha 2019 Constituency Details,Darbhanga Profile,Darbhanga General Elections 2019

Darbhanga Lok Sabha constituency, one of Bihar’s 40 seats, is represented in the Lower House of Parliament by cricketer-turned-politician Kirti Azad, who won on a BJP ticket in 2014.

Azad has been elected thrice on the BJP ticket from this constituency -- in 1999, 2009 and 2014.

Son of former Bihar chief minister Bhagwad Jha Azad, Kirti Azad defeated RJD’s four-time MP Md Ali Ashraf Fatmi in 2014 by nearly 34,000 votes, while JD-U’s Sanjay Kumar Jha was a distant third with 1.04-lakh votes.

But, the 60-year-old was suspended from the BJP in 2015 for anti-party activities and recently joined the Congress.

The voting for Bihar’s 40 Parliamentary seats will take place in seven phases beginning April 11. The last phase will be held on May 19.

The counting of votes will take place on May 23

Here is all you need to know about Darbhanga Lok Sabha constituency in Bihar:

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Darbhanga

State: Bihar

Polling date: April 29

2019 candidates: Abdul Bari Siddiqui (RJD), Gopal Jee Thakur (BJP) and Md. Mukhtar (BSP)

Sitting MP, Party: Kirti Azad, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 35,043

Runner up name, party: Md Ali Asraf Fatmi, RJD

Number of voters in 2014: 828,342

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 55.39%

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,405

Number of women voters: 421,295

First Published: Apr 05, 2019 15:39 IST

Get the latest news and live updates for Lok Sabha Elections 2019, seat stats, constituency and election news on Follow us on FB and Twitter to get the fastest updates on election results 2019, party-wise votes stats, wins and leads, vote share of parties and many more interesting election facts.