New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Jan 24, 2020-Friday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Home / Constituency Watch / Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Udupi Chikmagalur, Karnataka

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Udupi Chikmagalur, Karnataka

Lok Sabha Elections 2019 constituency watch of Udupi Chikmagalur, Karnataka

constituency-watch Updated: Apr 12, 2019 13:47 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
BJP MP Shobha Karandlaje who is the sitting MP from Udupi Chikmagalur.
BJP MP Shobha Karandlaje who is the sitting MP from Udupi Chikmagalur.(Sonu Mehta/HT PHOTO)

Udupi Chikmagalur is one of the 28 Lok Sabha seats in Karnataka. Udupi Chikmagalur became a Lok Sabha constituency after the delimitation of the parliamentary constituencies in 2008. Udupi Chikmagalur witnessed its first Lok Sabha elections as an independent constituency in 2009 and its first elected member was DV Sadananda Gowda of the BJP.

However, when BS Yeddyurapa resigned as Karnataka chief minister, Gowda was chosen to take on the mantle of the chief minister of the state. When he resigned in 2012 to take over as the state chief minister, the constituency was forced to go into a by-election in 2012. The by-election was won by Congress’s K Jayaprakash Hegde.

Read: All you need to know about Karnataka

The constituency went into Lok Sabha elections in 2014 in which BJP’s Shobha Karandlaje won the election defeating her closest competitor and sitting MP Congress’s K Jayaprakash Hegde by slightly less than 2 lakh votes.

The Congress and JD(S) have tied up in an alliance in the state and as part of the seat sharing deal, the Congress has decided to leave the Tumkur seat for the HD Deve Gowda-led JD(S).

The general elections will be held across India in seven phases beginning April 11 and the counting of votes will take place on May 23.

Here’s all you need to know about the Udupi Chikmagalur Lok Sabha constituency:

State: Karnataka

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Udupi Chikmagalur

Polling date: April 18

2019 candidates: Shobha Karandlaje (BJP), Pramod Madhwaraj (Congress)

Sitting MP, Party: Shobha Karandlaje

Winning margin in 2014: 181,643

Runner up name, party: K Jayaprakash Hegde, INC

Number of voters in 2014: 1,034,334

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 77

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1751

Number of women voters: 522,638