Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 14, 2018-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

In Modi’s Varanasi, his lookalike jumps into poll fray, against BJP

An ardent Modi fan, Abhinandan Pathak has filed his nomination for Varanasi North against BJP MLA Ravindra Jaiswal on an RPI(A) ticket.

lucknow Updated: Feb 17, 2017 14:00 IST
Sudhir Kumar
Sudhir Kumar
Hindustan Times, Varanasi
Narendra Modi,Narendra Modi lookalike,Varanasi
Narendra Modi lookalike Abhinandan Pathak after filing his nomination for Varanasi north assembly seat.(Adarsh Gupta/HT)

While one Narendra Modi lookalike Mumbai’s Vikas Mahante is making waves on social media, another one from Varanasi jumped into the poll arena on Thursday.

Abhinandan Pathak, who many claim is a mirror image of Modi, filed his nomination as a Republican Party of India (RPI-Athawale) candidate from Varanasi North.

An ardent Modi fan, this lookalike nurses chief ministerial ambitions.

“I am contesting assembly polls to become UP’s chief minister someday,” he said, claiming he had RPI(A) chief Ramdas Athawale’s blessings.

“He (Athawale) has appointed me a star campaigner of the party. I am a dedicated worker of the party,” he said.

The RPI (A) is part of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) led by the BJP and its chief Athawale is minister of state for social justice and empowerment in the Modi government.

Pathak is contesting on a ticket from RPI(A), an ally of NDA. (Adarsh Gupta/HT Photo)

Pathak however dismissed notions that his contesting polls—against BJP MLA Ravindra Jaiswal—would affect the alliance.

“My candidature will not affect our alliance. I am the admirer of PM Modi who is doing a great job,” Pathak, who will hit the campaign trail on Friday, said.

Confident of victory, Pathak claimed the RPI(A) will play a crucial role in the formation of the government in UP after the assembly polls and his candidature would not affect BJP’s alliance with the party.

Inspired by Modi’s journey from ‘chaiwala’ (tea vendor) to Prime Minister, Pathak hopes to make it big in politics. “I believe in karma and I am here with full commitment. Hard work and karma together yield desired results.”

Varanasi has eight assembly seats. BJP has won three seats: Cantt, Varanasi south, Varanasi north in the last elections. This time, the party has trusted new faces on four seats and has denied ticket to seven-time MLA Shyamdeo Roy Chaudhary.

Also Read:Funds flow generously for Clean Ganga, but river far from clean

Campaigning on a bike, moustache Pandey promises development in Pindara

First Published: Feb 17, 2017 14:00 IST