NAAC revises its assessment pattern
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 19, 2019-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

NAAC revises its assessment pattern

National assesment and Accreditation Council has revised its assessment pattern to match the international evaluation procedure.

lucknow Updated: Apr 22, 2007 04:11 IST

National assesment and Accreditation Council (NAAC), an offshoot of University Grants Commission (UGC), has revised its assessment pattern to match the international evaluation procedure. In a bid to keep pace with continuous improvement, NAAC has changed the grading pattern from the earlier 9-point scale to the new three letter grades, viz., ‘A’, ‘B’ and ‘C’ for accredited institutions and ‘D’ for those which are not accredited.

Prior to new format, NAAC was rating varsities and colleges in 9-point scale. According to experts it was too complicated and was difficult for many to understand. This vast number of scaling points led to a lot of complications. Thus, it was to work for a viable procedure that would facilitate in doing the assessment of colleges in less time. This prompted NAAC to revise to its old scaling system and adopt the new grading system.

NAAC has also shifted the overall scoring pattern from the earlier percentages to the Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGAP) system.

Nishi Pandey, director UGC-ASC said: “The new grading pattern will lead to accurate measurement of quality of an institution. These reforms are aimed to overcome limitations of present methodology and to conduct assessment of more institutions in less time.” Pandey said this after attending an NAAC meeting early this month.

She explained: “Under CGPA, the assessment indicators will include curricular aspects; teaching-learning and evaluation; research, consultancy and extension; infrastructure and learning resources; student support and progression; governance and leadership and innovative practices. These will further be divided into more sub-groups.”

In new methodology, the institutions will be graded as A, B, C and D denoting ‘very good’, ‘good’, ‘satisfactory’ and ‘unsatisfactory’ levels, respectively. The institutions having ‘A’ grade would be regarded as high level of academic accomplishment as expected of an institutions while those having ‘B’ grade would mean that level of academic accomplishment above the minimum level.

Citing advantages of CGPA system, she said that evaluation would be more exact due to reductions in variations and standard deviation, extreme biases (if any) would get minimised, wider scope for normalising the scores, etc.

The grading which any university or college earns is valid for five years. After completion of five years, an institution may seek re-accreditation by NAAC.

Pandey added that the Academic Staff College would play an instrumental role in preparing teachers during the course of its training for NAAC.

“Teachers will be briefed about NAAC and what are the areas which they should focus on when their colleges applies for NAAC accreditation,” she said while briefing the press here on Saturday.

First Published: Apr 22, 2007 04:10 IST