BMC election results: These 20-something graduates are Mumbai’s newest, youngest corporators

At 23 and 24, three candidates have become the youngest corporators to be elected in this BMC elections

mumbai Updated: Feb 24, 2017 08:57 IST
Farhan Shaikh
Farhan Shaikh
Hindustan Times
Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation elections,polls,Mumbai
Harshad Karkar

At 23 and 24, three candidates have become the youngest corporators to be elected in this BMC elections.

The 24-year-old Sweta Korgaonkar appeared to be a big winner after she defeated sitting corporator Mohan Mithbaonkar, who, a former deputy mayor.

Contesting on a Congress ticket from Govind Nagar in Borivli, Korgaonkar defeated three men from MNS, Shiv Sena and BJP’s sitting corporator Mithbaonkar. Mithbaonkar won both BMC elections – in 2007 and 2012.

Speaking to Hindustan Times, Korgaonkar said, “There is a population of 15,000 in Gorai village but there is no hospital. That is a big problem for women and children. I would like to change that. Despite being a part of Mumbai, this area, which has adivasi padas, is deprived of important facilities.”

Harshad Karkar, 23, who won in Ambawadi, Dahisar on a Sena ticket is the son of two-time corporator Prakash Karkar. Giving the credit of his victory to his father’s work, Karkar said, “I participated in politics but never imagined myself as a candidate. My father suggested I contest on the seat because of his ill health. I decided to run for the seat so I could carry on my father’s work.”

Karkar said he won by a margin of 1,708 votes defeating the BJP candidate Neelaben Soni. He said he would build proper toilets.

Winner of Chandivli, Aakansha Shetye contested on a Sena ticket after her uncle Ishwar Taide, a sitting corporator, urged her to join politics.

All three corporators are graduates. Karkar is in his final year of MBA. Shetye, who defeated four other candidates, has completed her post-graduation diploma in banking . Korgaonkar is also a graduate.

While the candidates are closely related to sitting corporators, they contested from the wards that were reserved for OBCs after the delimitation exercise

Read more: BMC election results: In south Mumbai, BJP’s Atul Shah wins through lottery after a tie

BMC election results: With huge gains in Mumbai, BJP proves it is here to stay

BMC election results: Will the Fadnavis-Thackeray friendship see ‘achche din’ again?

BMC elections: Five things the verdict tells us about Sena-BJP’s power equation

Shiv Sena 84, BJP 82; Fadnavis is the winner

First Published: Feb 24, 2017 08:57 IST