Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 20, 2018-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Sena decides to remain neutral, will not support no-confidence motion against govt in Parliament

The party mouthpiece claimed that the people of India will move a no-confidence with majority against the BJP in the upcoming 2019 general elections.

mumbai Updated: Mar 19, 2018 13:51 IST
Swapnil Rawal
Swapnil Rawal
Hindustan Times
Shiv Sena,Saamana,BJP
The no-confidence motion was initiated by TDP and YSR Congress. (HT FILE)

Even as the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and YSR Congress moved no-confidence motion against the Narendra Modi government in the Lok Sabha today, the Shiv Sena, another bickering ally of the Bharatiya Janata Party has decided against supporting the motion.

In an editorial in the party mouthpiece ‘Saamana’, the Sena said the people of the country have “no confidence in the government, and in the 2019 general election, this [no confidence] motion will be passed with majority.”

Senior Sena MPs have said that they will stay neutral if the motion is accepted by the Lok Sabha speaker. The editorial slammed the BJP for its “overconfidence”.

“Modi government’s over confident attitude that nobody can dislodge them from power for another 25 years, has been shaken by the no-confidence motion initiated against the government in less than five years,” the Marathi daily said.

First Published: Mar 19, 2018 13:51 IST