Telugu Titans vs Tamil Thalaivas in Season 5 pro kabaddi league opener
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 20, 2019-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Telugu Titans vs Tamil Thalaivas in Season 5 pro kabaddi league opener

Pro Kabaddi League season 5 will start in Hyderabad on Friday with a match between Telugu Titans and Tamil Thalaivas

other sports Updated: Jul 28, 2017 13:13 IST
Pro Kabaddi League,Telugu Titans,Tamil Thalaivas
Pro Kabaddi League team captains during the launch of the season 5 on Friday. Telugu Titans will clash with Tamil Thalaivas in season 5 opener(HT Photo)

Pro Kabaddi League’s fifth season is all set to enthrall the fans as it begins in Hyderabad on Friday. The inaugural match of the tournament would be held at the Gachibowli stadium between the Rahul Chaudhari-led Telugu Titans and Tamil Thalaivas.

READ | Pro Kabaddi League: Meraj Sheykh retained as captain of Dabang Delhi

The inaugural ceremony is likely to be a star-studded affair, with sports icons and film personalities expected to attend the event. Bollywood superstar Akshay Kumar will sing a glorious rendition of the National Anthem before the start of the first match of the season, the organisers said in a release.

Kabaddi stars Anup Kumar, Rahul Chaudhari, Ajay Thakur, Nitin Tomar, besides international player Meraj Sheykh were present at a curtain raiser event on Thursday.

READ | Pro Kabaddi League: Bengal Warriors seek new beginning with overhauled strategy

Hyderabad would host matches up to August 3. As many as 12 teams compete in the tournament and the season would culminate with the finals slated for October 28 in Chennai.

“We are now one day away from the most thrilling season of VIVO Pro Kabaddi ever. I am proud, excited and, at the same time, grateful to the fans, franchises, Star and the federations for supporting us at every step of this journey. I look forward to an engaging season of kabaddi,” said Anupam Goswami, League Commissioner, VIVO Pro Kabaddi.

READ | Sachin Tendulkar now becomes co-owner of a Pro Kabaddi League team

The 12 teams are Bengal Warriors, Bengaluru Bulls, Dabang Delhi KC, Gujarat Fortune Giants, Haryana Steelers, Jaipur Pink Panthers, Puneri Paltan, U Mumba, Patna Pirates, Tamil Thailavas, Telugu Titans and UP Yodha.

First Published: Jul 27, 2017 20:50 IST