Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 19, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Sumit Sangwan, Nikhat Zareen strike gold at Belgrade International boxing

Indian boxers Sumit Sangwan and Nikhat Zareen won gold medals at the Belgrade International on Saturday.

other sports Updated: Apr 29, 2018 10:59 IST
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India
Press Trust of India, New Delhi
Sumit Sangwan,Nikhat Zareen,Belgrade International
Indian boxer Sumit Sangwan won a gold medal at the Belgrade International on Saturday.(Getty Images)

Sumit Sangwan (91kg) and Nikhat Zareen (51kg) were among the three gold-medallists in India’s stupendous campaign at the 56th Belgrade International Boxing Tournament in Serbia.

India ended the tournament with three gold, five silver and five bronze medals in all.

READ | Sumit Sangwan, Nikhat Zareen enter finals of Belgrade International boxing

Continuing his fine comeback from a wrist injury, Sumit, an Asian silver-medallist, defeated Ecuador’s Castillo Torres in a unanimous 5-0 verdict to claim the top honours last night.

Former junior world champion Nikhat, also returning to action after recovering from a shoulder injury, notched up a 5-0 win over Greece’s Koutsoeorgopoulou Aikaterini to pick up a morale-boosting gold.

Also claiming a gold was Himanshu Sharma (49kg), who defeated Algeria’s Mohammed Touareg 5-0 in his final bout.

Signing off with silver medals among women were Jamuna Boro (54kg) and Ralte Lalfakmawii (+81kg). While Jamuna lost to local favourite Andjela Brankovic 1-4, Lalfakmawii went down 2-3 to Turkey’s Demir Sennur.

In the men’s draw, Laldinmawia (52kg), Varinder Singh (56kg) and Pawan Kumar (69kg) had to be content with silver medals.

READ | Sumit Sangwan, 11 other Indians, enter Belgrade International boxing semis

Laldinmawia was beaten 0-5 by Korea’s Kim Inkyn, Varinder lost 2-3 to Brazillian Arilson Goncalves.

Pawan was also defeated in a split verdict, going down 1-4 to Croatia’s Petar Cetinic.

Earlier, Narender (+91kg) had fetched a bronze in the men’s competition.

In the women’s competition, Rajesh Narwal (48kg), Priyanka Thakur (60kg), Rumi Gogoi (75kg) and Nirmala Rawat (81kg) had settled for bronze medals.

First Published: Apr 29, 2018 10:31 IST