ISL: Atletico de Kolkata denied a point as Kerala Blasters win
Atletico de Kolkata were robbed of a point due to poor refereeing as Luis Garcia's injury time equaliser was disallowed as Kerala Blasters won their Indian Super League encounter in Kochi.sports Updated: Nov 22, 2014 01:15 IST
Atletico de Kolkata were robbed of a point due to poor refereeing as captain Luis Garcia's injury time equaliser was disallowed by the assistant referee as hosts Kerala Blasters recorded a 2-1 win in their Indian Super League encounter in Kochi on Friday.
Despite the defeat, Atletico de Kolkata stay put in second position with 16 points while Blasters also kept their third position intact with 15 points from 10 games.
The incident happened in the 92nd minute. Down 1-2, Atletico de Kolkata's Jofre kept a cross-field ball from the left flank which Ethiopian striker Fikru Tefera headed for an unmarked Garcia and the former Liverpool player smashed it home.
But to his horror he saw the assistant referee disallowing the goal where as TV replays showed that ball had crossed the goal-line by at least a couple of feet.
It was a match that Blasters dominated in the first half as they scored through their Scottish striker Iain Hume in the 4th minute and left-winger Pedro Gusmao in the 42nd minute.
For Atletico de Kolkata, Fikru pulled one back in the 55th minute but it was more due to a faulty clearance on the part of opposition captain Cedric Hengbart.
The match started with Fikru wasting a golden opportunity as early as the second minute when he had all the time in the world to beat Blasters custodian David James but his side volley didn't have enough punch to beat a diving former England World Cupper.
Within two minutes, it was Hume, the former striker of English Championship (Division I) team Fleetwood Town, who hit back through counter attack. It was Pedro who made Baljit Sahni chase shadows, essaying a lovely chip from wide left.
The defence formation of Atletico de Kolkata was all jumbled up with custodian Subhasish Roy Chowdhury indecisive about coming out of his charge. The ball was slotted home by Hume and Stephen Pearson standing on the goal-line cleverly jumped to let the ball enter the net as a touch from him would have ruled it as off-side.
First Published: Nov 22, 2014 01:04 IST