Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 20, 2019-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Watch: Atletico de Kolkata break Kerala Blasters FC heart, win ISL 2016 crown

Dec 19, 2016 14:00 IST
about the video

History repeated itself in the Indian Super League as Atletico de Kolkata stunned Kerala Blasters FC 5-4 via tie-breaker to emerge champions in final of the third edition at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Kochi, on Sunday. Atletico de Kolkata had defeated Kerala Blasters with a late winner to emerge champions in the inaugural edition in 2014 and two years later they left Kerala Blasters stunned in front of their packed home stadium to pocket the title for the second time in three years. It looked like Atletico de Kolkata would miss out on top honour after striker Iain Hume had missed his first penalty but ATK converted the next four penalties through Sameehg Doutie, Borja Fernandez, Javier Lara and Jewel Raja. Kerala Blasters converted their penalties through Antonio German, Kervens Belfort and Mohammed Rafique, while Elhadji Ndoye shot wide and captain Cedric Hengbart saw his final penalty being saved by the legs of goalkeeper Debjit Majumder. (Video and image courtesy ISL)