After months of bitterness, election results revive political bonhomie
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 21, 2019-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

After months of bitterness, election results revive political bonhomie

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi led political leaders in congratulate each other as the results of assembly election 2017 sealed the fate of parties and candidates

assembly elections Updated: Mar 11, 2017 20:34 IST
Rajesh Ahuja
Rajesh Ahuja
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
UP results,Punjab results,Uttarakhand results
Prime Minister Narendra Modi took to Twitter to congratulate Captain Amarinder Singh on the Congress victory in Punjab. (HT file photo)

It was one of the most bitterly fought elections in recent times. But as the results emerged across five states on Saturday and the fate of parties and candidates sealed, top politicians cutting across party lines decided to bury the hatchet and graciously congratulated each other for well-fought victories.

Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi congratulated Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Twitter.

Follow live: Election result updates

“I congratulate Shri Narendra Modi and the BJP on their victory in Uttar Pradesh & Uttarakhand,” Gandhi said.

Modi replied promptly: “Thank you. Long live democracy!”

Earlier in the day, the PM reached out to Captain Amarinder Singh who is being credited with the Congress’ thumoing victory in Punjab.

“Spoke to @capt_amarinder & congratulated him on the win in Punjab. Also wished him a happy birthday & prayed for his long & healthy life,” Modi tweeted.

The Captain was equally gracious in his reply. “Thankyou @narendramodi ji for your good wishes. I look forward to working with you for the betterment of Punjab.”

Election strategist Prashant Kishor’s I-PAC or the Indian Political Action Committee that advised Captain Amarinder Singh, even saluted AAP workers for putting up a tough fight in Punjab.

“To all AAP volunteers and grassroots workers, you were one of the toughest competitors we faced!”

The tweet tagged Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal and AAP’s Punjab Twitter handles.

Uttarakhand chief minister Harish Rawat, who resigned following the Congress’s humiliating defeat in the state, saluted Modi’s “revolution” but cheekily added “EVM Chamatkar”, perhaps a reference to BSP chief Mayawati’s allegation that electronic voting machines were manipulated in the BJP’s favour.

“I also want to congratulate ‘Modi kranti’ and ‘EVM chamatkar’,” Rawat told a news channel.

West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee also congratulated the winners in different states.

First Published: Mar 11, 2017 19:56 IST