New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Feb 25, 2020-Tuesday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Home / Assembly Elections / BJP’s Ajay Mahawar wins Ghonda Assembly seat

BJP’s Ajay Mahawar wins Ghonda Assembly seat

BJP’s Ajay Mahawar fought against INC’s Bhisham Sharma and AAP’s Shridutt Sharma to win Ghonda seat in Delhi assembly election 2020.

assembly-elections Updated: Feb 11, 2020 17:25 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Counting of votes underway (representational image).
Counting of votes underway (representational image). (HT File Photo)

BJP candidate Ajay Mahawar wins Ghonda Assembly seat in Delhi Assembly Election 2020. Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Ajay Mahawar took an early lead when counting of votes started at 8 am. In 2015 Delhi assembly elections, the seat was won by AAP.

There are a total of 70 assembly constituencies of Delhi assembly and Ghonda is one of them. All the constituencies went to poll on February 8, 2020, to elect a new government. Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) which came into power in 2015 completes its term on February 22, 2020. The 2020 polling was conducted in a single phase and the counting of votes is underway. However, the result for most are already declared, including Ghonda.

In 2015, seven candidates contested for Ghonda Assembly seat, this year the number is twelve. The candidates who contested for Ghonda seat in Delhi Assembly Election 2020 are:

Ajay Mahawar - Bharatiya Janata Party

Bhisham Sharma - Indian National Congress

Shridutt Sharma - Aam Aadmi Party

Anil Singh - Sarvjan Lok Shakti Party

Avni Dhilwal - Nyay Party

Dr. Tejpal - Right to Recall Party

Bimlesh Kumar Sharma - Satya Bahumat Party

Manish Kumar - Mazdoor Kirayedar Vikas Party

Man Singh - Jindabad Kranti Party

Reema - Rashtravadi Janata Party

K. P. Rangari - Peoples Party of India (Democratic)

Harish – Independent

Total voters in Ghonda in 2015 Delhi assembly elections were 2,02,799. Of them, male voters accounted for 1,11,476 and female voters 91,313.

Ghonda’s incumbent MLA is Shri Dutt Sharma of AAM Aadmi Party. In 2015 Delhi assembly elections, Sharma defeated Sahab Singh Chauhan of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) by 8,093 votes.

While Sharma secured 60,906 votes, Chauhan grabbed 52,813 votes. Congress’s Bhisham Sharma received 18,892 votes and secured the third position. Shri Dutt Sharma, Sahab Singh Chauhan, Bhisham Sharma received 45 percent, 39 percent, and 14 percent votes respectively.

Also Read | Delhi Assembly Election Results 2020 Live Updates

Get Latest Updates, Top News on Delhi Assembly Election on Hindustan Times.