New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Feb 17, 2020-Monday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Home / Assembly Elections / AAP’s Rajendra Pal Gautam wins Seema Puri Assembly seat

AAP’s Rajendra Pal Gautam wins Seema Puri Assembly seat

Rajendra Pal Gautam bags win in Seema Puri Assembly seat. In Delhi Assembly Election 2020, INC fielded Veer Singh Dhingan against Gautam.

assembly-elections Updated: Feb 11, 2020 18:44 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
People waiting to cast vote (representational image).
People waiting to cast vote (representational image). (HT File Photo)

AAP’s Rajendra Pal Gautam wins Seema Puri Assembly seat in Delhi assembly election 2020. Gautam took an early lead with beginning of counting which started at 8 am today, February 11. He was contesting against INC candidate Veer Singh Dhingan.

Seema Puri Assembly constituency went to poll on February 8 during the Delhi Assembly elections 2020. Now, counting of votes is underway and result for most of the constituencies are declared. Seema Puri Assembly seat comes under North East Delhi Lok Sabha constituency. The incumbent MLA of Seema Puri is AAP’s Rajendra Pal Gautam.

This year, ten candidates contested from the seat. In 2015 elections, the number was six. The candidates contested from Seema Puri Assembly seat in Delhi Assembly 2020 are:

Rajendra Pal Gautam - Aam Aadmi Party

Veer Singh Dhingan - Indian National Congress

Badan Singh - Sarvjan Lok Shakti Party

Manoj Kumar - Peoples Party of India (Democratic)

Kamal Singh - Bahujan Samaj Party

Rajesh Kumar Lohiya - Bhartiya Samajik Nyay Party

Lalit Kumar - Mazdoor Ekta Party

Vijay - Jan Seva Sahayak Party

Sant Lal - Lok Jan Shakti Party

Kanishk Singh - Independent

In Seemapuri Assembly constituency, 92,297 voters were male and 80,426 were females out of 1,72,741 electors in 2015.

In 2015, Aam Aadmi Party’s Rajendra Pal Gautam (sitting MLA) defeated BJP’s Karam Vir by margin of 48,821 votes. Gautam polled 79,777 or 63 per cent of the votes, while Karam Vir secured 30,956 or 24.5 per cent. The third spot was grabbed by INC candidate Veer Singh Dhingan with 10,674 votes.

Get Latest Updates, Top News on Delhi Assembly Election on Hindustan Times.