Bank holiday for Lok Sabha Election 2024: Banks in these cities will be closed on April 26 - Hindustan Times

Bank holiday for Lok Sabha Election 2024: Banks in these cities will be closed on April 26

Apr 25, 2024 11:25 AM IST

Bank holiday Lok Sabha polls: 2nd phase is almost here and to ensure there are no hindrances to the public, banks will be closed on April 26.

Bank holiday Lok Sabha polls: Polling for the 2024 Lok Sabha Elections has started. The same will be held across 7 phases from April 19 and they will continue till June 1 with the results to be announced on June 4, 2024. Voting is scheduled for April 19 (already held), April 26, May 7, May 13, May 20, May 25, and June 1 and, according to the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) holiday calendar for 2024, in whichever city the polling is to be held, banks will remain closed on that specific day only.

Lok Sabha elections 2nd phase is here and you can check in which cities banks will be closed. Check full list.(Reuters/Representative image)
Lok Sabha elections 2nd phase is here and you can check in which cities banks will be closed. Check full list.(Reuters/Representative image)

So, if there is any banking work that requires to be done on an urgent basis, you should try and visit your bank branch today as only online services will be available tomorrow. There will be no break in digital services provided by banks at all. In fact, to ensure as much polling as possible certain states have even declared that workers should receive their pay for the day even though it has been announced as a holiday.

Unlock exclusive access to the latest news on India's general elections, only on the HT App. Download Now! Download Now!

Read More: Lok Sabha polls: Will Noida, Greater Noida liquor shops be closed on April 26?

“The Government of Karnataka vide Notification No. DPAR 09 HHL 2024 dated 30.03.2024 has notified that the General Elections – Lok Sabha – 2024, are scheduled to be held on Friday, the 26th April 2024 and Tuesday, the 07th May 2024 and declared General Holiday to the respective electoral Constituencies for the convenience of voters of all the State Government Offices, Schools and Colleges (including Aided Educational Institutions) and Organizations owned by the Government to cast their vote, who come under the jurisdiction of respective electoral Constituencies,” the Economic Times quoted a High Court Notification of Karnataka as stating.

Read More| How to check your polling booth for voting in phase 2 of Lok Sabha election 2024

Second phase of general elections: List of states where voting will take place

This phase of the general elections will cover 89 constituencies of 13 states and union territories (UTs):

1. Assam (5): Karimganj, Silchar, Mangaldoi, Nawgong, Kaliabor

2. Bihar (5): Kishanganj, Katihar, Purnia, Bhagalpur, Banka

3. Chhattisgarh (3): Rajnandgaon, Mahasamund, Kanker

4. Jammu and Kashmir (1): Jammu

ALSO READ| Lok Sabha elections: Food discounts, free health checkups for voters in Noida. How, where to claim?

5. Karnataka (14): Udupi Chikamagalur, Hassan, Dakshina Kannada, Chitradurga, Tumkur, Mandya, Mysore, Chamarajanagar, Bangalore Rural, Bangalore North, Bangalore Central, Bangalore South, Chikballapur, Kolar

6. Kerala (20): Kasaragod, Kannur, Vadakara, Wayanad, Kozhikode, Malappuram, Ponnani, Palakkad, Alathur, Thrissur, Chalakudy, Ernakulam, Idukki, Kottayam, Alappuzha, Mavelikkara, Pathanamthitta, Kollam, Attingal, Thiruvananthapuram

Read More| Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 2: List of documents required for voting

7. Madhya Pradesh (7): Tikamgarh, Damoh, Khajuraho, Satna, Rewa, Hoshangabad, Betul

8. Maharashtra (8): Buldhana, Akola, Amravati (SC), Wardha, Yavatmal-Washim, Hingoli, Nanded, Parbhani

9. Manipur (1): Outer Manipur

10. Rajasthan (13): Tonk-Sawai Madhopur, Ajmer, Pali, Jodhpur, Barmer, Jalore, Udaipur, Banswara, Chittorgarh, Rajsamand, Bhilwara, Kota, Jhalawar-Baran

11. Tripura (1): Tripura East

12. Uttar Pradesh (8): Amroha, Meerut, Baghpat, Ghaziabad, Gautam Budh Nagar, Aligarh, Mathura, Bulandshahr

13. West Bengal (3): Darjeeling, Raiganj, Balurghat

Elevate your career with VIT’s MBA programme that has been designed by its acclaimed faculty & stands out as a beacon for working professionals. Explore now!

Discover the complete story of India's general elections on our exclusive Elections Product! Access all the content absolutely free on the HT App. Download now!
Get latest news on Education along with Board Exam, Competitive Exam and Exam Result at Hindustan Times. Also get latest Job updates on Employment News
Share this article

    Follow the latest breaking news and developments from India and around the world with Hindustan Times' newsdesk. From politics and policies to the economy and the environment, from local issues to national events and global affairs, we've got you covered.

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Saturday, May 25, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On