Apna Dal (S) gives political twist to deputy speaker’s election

Published on Oct 14, 2021 11:29 PM IST
A member of Dalit or OBC community should be elected the deputy speaker of UP legislative assembly, demands Apna Dal (S) national working president Ashish Patel
A member of Dalit or OBC community should be elected the deputy speaker of UP legislative assembly, says Apna Dal (S) national working president Ashish Patel (PTI file)
A member of Dalit or OBC community should be elected the deputy speaker of UP legislative assembly, says Apna Dal (S) national working president Ashish Patel (PTI file)
By, Lucknow

The BJP government may have made up its mind to get Nitin Agarwal elected as the deputy speaker of the legislative assembly, its alliance partner Apna Dal (S), however, appears to have thrown a spanner in the party’s works giving a political twist to the exercise demanding that the deputy speaker should be elected from among the MLAs of Dalit or OBC community in Uttar Pradesh.

“No Dalit or OBC member occupies the post of speaker of legislative assembly or chairman of legislative council in the state. Under such circumstances, a member of Dalit or OBC community should be elected as the deputy speaker. This will be a good message from the government,” said Ashish Patel, an MLC and Apna Dal (S) national working president.

“We have raised our demand to the government on the issue. The government has numbers and will take a call on the issue,” said Patel, who is also the husband of Union minister of state Anupriya Patel.

UP minister for finance and parliamentary affairs Suresh Khanna, while speaking to Hindustan Times here on Wednesday, confirmed that Nitin Agarwal will be his party’s choice for the post of deputy speaker of UP assembly.

A Samajwadi Party MLA, Nitin Agarwal along with his father former MP Naresh Agarwal had joined the BJP in 2018. The Samajwadi Party’s petition seeking Nitin Agarwal’s disqualification was recently rejected.

A divided opposition has also not worked out any joint strategy to counter the BJP’s decision for election to the post. The Samajwadi Party apparently is not happy with the BJP government’s move and may consider fielding party MLA Narendra Verma for the post.

When contacted, Verma said he was not aware of any such move. Samajwadi Party spokesman Rajendra Chaudhary said SP national president Akhilesh Yadav would take a call on the issue. BSP legislature party leader Shah Alam alias Guddu Jamali said he would seek directives from BSP chief Mayawati on the issue. Congress Legislative Party leader Aradhna Mishra ‘Mona’ has already said her party would take a call once the assembly’s agenda was finalised.

Meanwhile, a meeting of the business advisory committee has been convened on October 17 (Sunday) to decide the state assembly’s agenda. State assembly speaker Hriday Narayan Dikshit has already fixed October 18 (Monday) as the date of election of deputy speaker’s post. The nomination papers may be deposited in the office of principal secretary, state assembly, Pradeep Dubey on October 17.

Nitin Agarwal, if elected as the deputy speaker in the legislative assembly of Uttar Pradesh, may not have the shortest ever term. The seventeenth assembly was constituted on March 14, 2017 and end of its term would mark end of term of the deputy speaker.

A list of 17 deputy speakers posted on the state assembly’s website shows that deputy speakers have worked for less than four months to less than 10 months in the past. While Waqar Ahmad Shah held the deputy speaker’s post from November 14, 2003 to July 26, 2004 while Ammar Rizvi was in office from September 28, 2001 to January 20, 2002.


    Umesh Raghuvanshi is a journalist with over three decade experience. He covers politics, finance, environment and social issues. He has covered all assembly and parliament elections in Uttar Pradesh since 1984.

Close Story

Less time to read?

Try Quickreads

  • Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath along with deputy CMs Brajesh Pathak and Keshav Prasad Maurya and party leaders Swatantra Dev Singh and others participate in a silent procession in remembrance of ‘Vibhajan Vibhishika Smriti Diwas’ from Lok Bhavan to GPO park, in Lucknow on Sunday. (ANI PHOTO)

    Mainstream political parties in Uttar Pradesh aim for public connect with patriotic plank

    With Uttar Pradesh drenched in the spirit of patriotism for Independence Day, nearly all the mainstream political parties in the state are either involved in some campaign with patriotic overtones to establish a public connect or busy extending their support to such initiatives. The Aam Aadmi Party has, apart from distributing the tricolour, announced a mass recital of “Jana Gana Mana”, the national anthem, on the eve of 75 years of Independence.

  • Allahabad University campus. (HT file)

    Historians collate I-Day memories of 1947, to be published in journal

    Having compiled the experiences shared by these eyewitnesses, former head and professor of the department of medieval and modern history, Allahabad University Yogeshwar Tiwari and Prof Tiwari's research scholar Akshat Lal shared the information collated by them which would soon be published in a noted Indian research journal. Then vice-chancellor of the University, Amaranatha Jha, had even presided over all the events which were organised by the University, he shared.

  • Mahatma Gandhi was well aware of the importance of the day. He woke up at 2am, an hour earlier than usual, and began performing prayers. (REPRESENTATIVE IMAGE )

    ‘From today, you have to wear crown of thorns’: Mahatma Gandhi told West Bengal ministers in Kolkata on August 15, 1947

    When members of the West Bengal cabinet came to seek Mahatma Gandhi's blessings in Kolkata (then Calcutta) on August 15, 1947, he said they (ministers) now wore a crown of thorns and should remain humble and be forbearing. This has been recorded in a letter that Mahatma Gandhi wrote from Beliaghata, Calcutta, (now Kolkata) to Agatha Harrison (an English industrial welfare reformer and unofficial diplomat) on August 15, 1947.

  • The Jamshetjee Jeejebhoy (JJ) hospital was built with a donation by a Parsi merchant. Later the Gokuldas Tejpal, Cama and St George’s Hospitals were brought under its wings. (HT Photo)

    A difficult history question on independence day

    In a modern nation's collective consciousness, its Independence Day is an uplifting landmark. It is a time for celebration, nostalgia and shared pride. But as the nation matures, it could also be a juncture to take stock of where we are. And even raise uncomfortable questions. Colonial powers pillaged their colonies for their own benefit, the fruits of which they still enjoy. It set back human progress for the natives in more ways than one.

  • Shinde, whose rebellion against the Sena leadership led to the collapse of the Thackeray-led Maha Vikas Aghadi government, took oath as the CM on June 30 with the support of the BJP. (Praful Gangurde/HT Photo)

    CM keeps urban devt, key ministries go to Fadnavis

    Mumbai: Chief minister Eknath Shinde on Sunday allocated portfolios to all 20 members of the council of ministers keeping urban development, transport and public works department with himself, while key ministries — home, finance and housing — went to deputy chief minister Devendra Fadnavis. The portfolios were distributed five days after the state government, comprising Shinde-led Shiv Sena faction and the Bharatiya Janata Party, inducted 18 ministers during the first cabinet expansion on August 9.

Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Monday, August 15, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now