Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 13, 2019-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Machhlishahr Election Results 2019: It’s BJP vs BSP

The Machhlishahr Lok Sabha seat is held by the Bharatiya Janata Party, which won it for the first time in 1996 and then again in 1998.

constituency watch Updated: May 23, 2019 11:31 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Machhlishahr Lok Sabha 2019 Constituency Details,Machhlishahr Profile,Uttar Pradesh
Poll officials check EVMs and VVPAT machines at a distribution centre.(PTI file photo)

Machhlishahr parliamentary constituency in Uttar Pradesh is reserved for members of Scheduled Castes.

The Machhlishahr Lok Sabha seat was held by the Bharatiya Janata Party after Lok Sabha elections 2014, which won it for the first time in 1996 and then again in 1998. After that, the Samajwadi Party has bagged the seat twice in 1999 and 2009 and the Bahujan Samaj Party was successful once in 2004.

Read: Lok Sabha Election Results Live Updates

Nishad, a community of fishermen and members of Scheduled Castes, are found in large numbers in this constituency. Kurmis and Yadavs are also found in significant numbers in this constituency.

The Machhlishahr parliamentary constituency comprises five assembly segments of Machhlishahr, Mariyahu, Zafrabad, Kerakat and Pindra.

Read: All about Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh, which sends the maximum number of members to Parliament at 80, saw polls in all the seven phases of the Lok Sabha election 2019. Currently, Tribhuvan Ram of BSP is leading in Machhlishahr according to the Uttar Pradesh election results 2019.

See: UP Election Results 2019 Live Updates

Here are a few details about the Machhlishahr Lok Sabha seat:

State: Uttar Pradesh

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Machhlishahr

Polling date: May 12

2019 candidates: Tribhuvan Ram (BSP), VP Saroj (BJP), Dr Amarnath Paswan (Jan Adhikar Party)

Sitting MP, party: Ram Charitra Nishad, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 172,155

Runner up name, party: VP Saroj, BSP

Number of voters in 2014: 997,902

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 52.74%

Number of women voters in 2014: 865,180

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,874

First Published: May 07, 2019 11:54 IST