Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 10, 2019-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lok Sabha elections 2019: Chandrapur in Maharashtra has been with BJP since 2004

Maharashtra’s 48 constituencies will vote to elect members to the Lok Sabha in four phases on April 11,18, 23 and 29.

constituency watch Updated: Apr 11, 2019 10:01 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Chandrapur Lok Sabha 2019 Constituency Details,Chandrapur Profile,Maharashtra Chandrapur General Elections 2019
An election official puts indeliable ink on the finger of a voter before she casts her ballot.(AFP File Photo)

The Chandrapur Lok Sabha constituency is spread over Chandrapur and Yavatmal districts.

One of the Maharashtra’s 48 Lok Sabha constituencies, it has six Vidhan Sabha segments of which one is reserved for SCs (Chandrapur) and one for STs (Arni).

The seat has been held by the Bharatiya Janata Party since 2004. Before that it was represented for two terms by the Congress.

Shantaram Potdukhe of the Congress held the seat from 1980 to 1991. Maharashtra goes to polls in four phases on April 11, 18, 23 and 29.

Here’s all you need to know about Chandrapur Lok Sabha constituency:

State : Maharashtra

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Chandrapur

2019 candidates: Hansraj Gangaram Ahir (BJP), Balubhau alias Suresh Narayan Dhanorkar (Congress)

Date of polling: April 11

Sitting MP, Party: Ahir Hansraj Gangaram, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 236,269

Runner up name, party: Deotale Sanjay Wamanrao, Congress

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,983

Number of voters in 2014: 1,109,888

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 80 %

Number of women voters: 506,820

First Published: Mar 18, 2019 22:22 IST