Brendon McCullum to play for Brisbane Heat in Big Bash League till 2019-2020

Brendon McCullum, the former New Zealand skipper, has gotten a contract extension with the Brisbane Heat franchise in the Big Bash League and he will play for the franchise until 2019-2020.

cricket Updated: Dec 19, 2017 16:49 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
‪Brisbane Heat‬,‪Brendon McCullum‬,‪cricket‬
Brendon McCullum is currently leading the Brisbane Heat in the Big Bash League and will play for the franchise until 2019-2020.(Getty Images)

Brendon McCullum, former New Zealand skipper and current skipper of the Brisbane Heat, will remain with the franchise till the 2019-2020 season after getting a three-year extension.

“Brendon’s impact on our club on and off the field is significant and the values that he represents are also those that we see as integral to the Brisbane Heat,” the franchise’s general manager Andrew McShea was quoted as saying by Cricbuzz.

The signing has now ensured that the Brisbane Heat will have plenty of firepower at the top of the order. Earlier, the team had also roped in Chris Lynn for a five-year stint by paying the big-hitting Australian batsman a record sum of one million dollars.

“It’s been an important year with the management of our playing list with a large number of players committing to long-term deals including Chris Lynn,” said McShea.

McCullum, whose left hand was broken while playing for the Trinbago Knight Riders in the Caribbean Premier League, came back with a bang during the recently concluded the Bangladesh Premier League where he helped Rangpur Riders to the title.

McCullum was the highest run getter for Brisbane Heat in the previous edition of the BBL with an aggregate of 323 runs.

“He has made an excellent recovery from the broken arm and his last three or four innings in Bangladesh were impressive,” Brisbane Heat coach Daniel Vettori said. “We’re all looking forward to getting straight into our preparations ahead of Wednesday’s game.”

First Published: Dec 19, 2017 16:45 IST