Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 18, 2018-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Indian cricket team to tour England in 2018 for Test and limited-overs series

Indian cricket team and England will play three Twenty20 matches in July 2018, followed by three one-day internationals and then Tests at Edgbaston, Lord’s, Trent Bridge, the Rose Bowl and The Oval

cricket Updated: Sep 05, 2017 16:54 IST
Agence France-Presse
Agence France-Presse
Agence France-Presse, London
England vs India,India tour of England,England vs India 2018
Indian cricket team’s tour of England will begin with a T20 series in July 2018.(Getty Images)

England will host Indian cricket team in a five-match Test series in 2018, the England and Wales Cricket Board announced on Tuesday.

The teams will play three Twenty20 matches in July, followed by three one-day internationals and then Tests at Edgbaston, Lord’s, Trent Bridge, the Rose Bowl and The Oval.

England’s schedule for the year also includes meetings with Pakistan, Australia and Scotland.

India tour of England (schedule)
  • July 3: 1st T20, Old Trafford
  • July 6: 2nd T20, Sophia Gardens
  • July 8: 3rd T20, County Ground
  • July 12: 1st ODI, Trent Bridge
  • July 14: 2nd ODI, Lord’s
  • July 17: 3rd ODI, Headingley
  • August 1-5: 1st Test, Edgbaston
  • August 9-13: 2nd Test, Lord’s
  • August 18-22: 3rd Test, Trent Bridge
  • August 30-September 3: 4th Test, Rose Bowl
  • September 7-11: 5th Test, The Oval

“A five-Test series against India is at the heart of next summer’s international programme,” said ECB chief executive officer Tom Harrison in a press release.

“This is always a much-anticipated contest which attracts a huge following across the globe for the five-day game.

“Test match cricket has a strong, consistent and passionate following across England and Wales and the seven summer Tests, starting with the Pakistan matches, are sure to attract good crowds.

“Alongside these, England’s white-ball contests against India, Australia and Scotland will give a fascinating guide to form ahead of the ICC Cricket World Cup, to be staged here in 2019.”

It will be only the second time India, the world’s number one Test side, play a five-Test series in England since 1959.

England’s summer will begin in May with two Tests against Pakistan at Lord’s and Headingley.

They have a one-off one-day game against Scotland in Edinburgh on June 10, followed by five one-day internationals and a T20 match against Australia later that month.

England’s other series:


May 24-28: 1st Test, Lord’s

June 1-5: 2nd Test, Headingley


June 10: ODI, Edinburgh


June 13: 1st ODI, The Oval

June 16: 2nd ODI, Sophia Gardens

June 19: 3rd ODI, Trent Bridge

June 21: 4th ODI, Chester-le-Street

June 24: 5th ODI, Old Trafford

June 27: T20, Edgbaston

First Published: Sep 05, 2017 16:45 IST