Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 15, 2019-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

IPL 2019, qualifier 1: Mumbai Indians predicted XI against MS Dhoni’s CSK - Rohit to make tactical changes

As far as the team composition is concerned, there could be a strategic tweak made primarily because of the surface on offer.

cricket Updated: May 07, 2019 12:09 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
IPL 2019,playoffs,Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians predicted XI against MS Dhoni’s CSK - Pitch to dictate team(AFP)

For any other side, the prospect of facing Chennai Super Kings in their own backyard would be a daunting prospect. However, for Mumbai Indians, this challenge is nothing to be worried about.

Mumbai Indians are the only side who have dominated CSK at their fortress. Also, Rohit’s men have won both league games against Super Kings this year, which includes a thumping 46-run win at Chepauk. So, this battle is as even as a battle can get.

As far as the team composition is concerned, there could be a strategic tweak made. Mitchell McClenaghan was impressive in the match at the Wankhede Stadium, but now, since the action shifts to Chepauk, he could make way for a spinner. Also, with him being benched, Mumbai can include an extra batting option in Evin Lewis at the top of the order.

ALSO READ: CSK predicted XI against Mumbai Indians, MS Dhoni could make big call

There is also the all-round option of Ben Cutting, who might be useful on this surface with his leg-cutters, but with Hardik Pandya and Kieron Pollard already getting the job done as finishers, Rohit could opt for a specialist batsman to thwart the threat of the CSK spinners.

A win in Tuesday’s Qualifier 1 will not only ensure a passage to the final but also provide three extra days to recover. After a gruelling month-and-a-half of action in summer heat, any team will happily accept the mini-break before going into the title clash, in Hyderabad on May 12.

Here is how Mumbai Indians could line up for this crucial fixture against the Chennai Super Kings:

Quinton de Kock, Rohit Sharma, Even Lewis, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Anukul Roy, Rahul Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga

First Published: May 07, 2019 10:18 IST