Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 21, 2019-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Jayant Yadav aims to prove fitness for India A in warm-up vs Bangladesh

Jayant Yadav, who suffered a finger injury in the series against England, will be keen to prove his fitness in the warm-up game between India A and Bangladesh.

cricket Updated: Jan 28, 2017 14:18 IST
Jayant Yadav,India A,India vs Bangladesh
Jayant Yadav sustained an injury in the England series which ruled him out of the Chennai Test and he will be keen to prove his fitness in the warm-up game against Bangladesh.(Photo by:BCCI)

Tamil Nadu captain Abhinav Mukund will be leading a 14-member India A side in a two-day warm-up match against Bangladesh before the one-off Test which begins on February 9 in Hyderabad.

The squad features all-rounder Jayant Yadav, who sustained an injury during England series and the match will be his fitness Test before the big game against Bangladesh.

Hardik Pandya will also like to make his case stronger and get retained in the squad after being injured during practice ahead of the Mohali Test against England.

Read More | Jayant Yadav makes a mark, despite spotlight on Virat Kohli

The team of 14 features all performers in the Ranji Trophy including top run-getter Priyank Panchal and top wicket-taker Shahbaz Nadeem.

One of the unique feature of the squad is presence of three wicketkeepers -- Ishan Kishan, who is named in the list as the wicketkeeper. But it also has the flamboyant Rishabh Pant and second highest scorer of the season Nitin Saini of Haryana.

Since a two-day match is not an official first-class game, there is a possibility that selectors can check out all three glovesmen.

Mumbai’s top run-getter Shreyas Iyer gets another chance at the ‘A’ level while Tamil Nadu all-rounder Vijay Shankar is also a part of the squad.

With dearth of quality left-arm seamers in the country, Rajasthan’s Aniket Chaudhary and Hyderabad’s former India U-19 Chama Milind will like to showcase what they can bring to the table.

Bangladesh, who started playing Tests in 2000, arrive in India for the first time to play a Test match.


Abhinav Mukund (c), Priyank Kirit Panchal, Shreyas Iyer, Ishank Jaggi, Rishabh Pant, Ishan Kishan (Wicket-Keeper), Vijay Shankar, Hardik Pandya, Shahbaz Nadeem, Jayant Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Aniket Choudhary, Chama Milind, Nitin Saini.

First Published: Jan 28, 2017 13:50 IST