Today in New Delhi, India
Sep 25, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Karnataka State Cricket Association officials to boycott BCCI award ceremony

Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) have decided to boycott the annual awards of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

cricket Updated: Mar 03, 2017 22:50 IST
Karnataka State Cricket Association,BCCI award ceremony,BCCI
Karnataka Karnataka State Cricket Association officials will not be attending the annual BCCI awards ceremony.(AP)

Host association Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) have decided to boycott the annual awards of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and the MAK Pataudi lecture which will also be delivered on March 8 in Bengaluru.

The decision to boycott the function was taken after the Committee of Administrators (COA) decided to invite only eligible officials of the state units as per the Supreme Court orders.

READ | Virat Kohli to receive Polly Umrigar Award, R Ashwin gets Dilip Sardesai Award

In a letter addressed to BCCI chief executive Rahul Johri, KSCA president Sanjay Desai and secretary R Sudhakar Rao said it would be a ‘humiliation’ if they accepted the invitation.

“Though courtesy demands and it is customary to thank you for the subject invitation, it is unfortunate that we do not intend to even acknowledge, leave alone, thank you for the invite. It may seem very rude and un-diplomatic, however, looking at the last paragraph of your invitation, ‘kindly note that the Committee of Administrators is constrained to convey that only those office-bearers who are qualified as per the Supreme Court’s orders are expected to attend the function,’ constraining you from certain acts, we would like to also ascertain that we are also constrained not to acknowledge, thank or even remotely think of attending this function,” the letter stated.

“We are very clear in our minds that it would be a humiliation of the very cricketing fraternity if we accept this invitation with constraints and restrictions. We call upon yourselves to please inform the COA that the KSCA will not accept such a humiliation and as a mark of protest, will boycott the said function though cricket and cricketers are dear to our heart,” the letter stated.

“The fact that the Committee of Administrators who have blatantly overstepped their roles far overreaching the directions of the Supreme Court do not understand the very meaning of an annual awards function pertaining to cricket and an invitation to the same,” the letter added.

READ | Virat Kohli on pressure in Bangalore: ‘I’m relaxed, I’m happy, I’m smiling...’

Rao said the CoA has ‘shabbily’ treated administrators and cricketers “who have contributed their time and energy and also have sacrificed immensely for the development of game over decades.”

“Under these circumstances, if in the wisdom of the Committee of Administrators, they feel that people who have contributed over decades are not worthy of attending a cricketing award function, then it demonstrates the prejudice they are carrying in this matter about various people,” Rao said in the letter.

Rao also took an opportunity to take a dig at the COA for nominating N Ram, eminent editor, in the committee which selected the award winners despite being above the age of 70.

“Also a point to note is the irony that Mr N Ram whom we all respect immensely is above the age of 70 years was nominated to the committee which selected the award winners for this function by the Committee of Administrators.”

First Published: Mar 03, 2017 22:49 IST