Poll| Who is at fault for the Dhoni-Rahman collision in the 1st ODI?
Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was on Friday charged 75% of his match fee for colliding with Bangladesh's debutant bowler Mustafizur Rahman during India's loss in the first ODI in Mirpur on Thursday, while Rahman was charged 50% of his match fee.Updated: Jun 19, 2015 16:53 IST
Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was on Friday charged 75% of his match fee for colliding with Bangladesh's debutant bowler Mustafizur Rahman during India's loss in the first ODI in Mirpur on Thursday, while Rahman was charged 50% of his match fee.
On the second ball of the 25th over Rahman appeared to get in Dhoni's path as the batsman was taking a single. Dhoni bumped shoulders with Rahman, who was shoved out of the way and left the field for treatment. Rahman rejoined the action in the 37th over. The left-arm pacer, on his part, appeared to have gotten in the way of the Indian batsmen on more than one occasion, also getting in the way of Rohit Sharma earlier in the innings. A softer collision ensued and Rohit Sharma immediately raised a finger to indicate that the bowler was in the wrong, given that Rahman appeared to have glanced towards the batsmen after his follow-through.
A collective decision was taken by the team management that the skipper would not plead guilty as he never tried to hurt the bowler intentionally. Accordingly, the administrative manager filled the form where India decided to contest the charge.
The Indian team's defence was that Dhoni never raised his elbow and that he just wanted to complete the run. Their bone of contention was that according to replays, there was no gap between shoulder and armpit which justifies that he did not try to elbow the bowler.
However, it was learnt that any sort of body contact can't be termed as a Level 1 offence, which leads to a lower fine and match referee Pycroft had to press Level 2 charges, which is a fine between 50% to 100% match fees or a two-match ban.
Interestingly, Mustafizur had told Bengali daily Prathom Aalo after the match that "I made a mistake coming in the way".
First Published: Jun 19, 2015 16:00 IST