Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 16, 2018-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Yuzvendra Chahal wins best T20 spell honour as 5 Indians make it to ICC teams

While Virat Kohli was named captain of both ICC Test and ODI teams, four more Indian cricketers found their names in the playing XIs.

cricket Updated: Jan 18, 2018 20:00 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, Mumbai
Yuzvendra Chahal,Virat Kohli,ICC Awards
India's Yuzvendra Chahal won the ICC Men’s T20 Performance of the Year on Thursday.(PTI)

Virat Kohli emerged as the biggest winner in the annual International Cricket Council (ICC) Awards on Thursday. The Indian cricket team skipper walked away with both men’s cricketer of the year and One-Day International (ODI) cricketer of the year awards.

Apart from these honours, Kohli was also named captain of both the ICC Test and ODI teams of the year. He was the only Indian to make it to both sides. Four other Indians also found their names in the teams of the year.

READ | Virat Kohli named Cricketer of the Year by ICC, Steve Smith wins top Test award

While India No.3 Cheteshwar Pujara and ace spinner Ravichandran Ashwin were named in ICC Test team of the year along with Kohli, young pace sensation Jasprit Bumrah and opening batsman Rohit Sharma joined their skipper in ICC ODI team of the year.

ICC Test team of the year: Dean Elgar, David Warner, Virat Kohli (captain), Steven Smith, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ben Stokes, Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), R Ashwin, Mitchell Starc, Kagiso Rabada, James Anderson.

ICC ODI Team of the year: David Warner, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (captain), Babar Azam, AB de Villiers, Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Ben Stokes, Trent Boult, Hasan Ali, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah.

READ | Gautam Gambhir defends Indian cricket team after series defeat in South Africa


Leg spinner Yuzvendra Chahal was another Indian who bagged an award on Thursday. Chahal’s spell of 6/25 against England in a Twenty20 International in Bengaluru last February was adjudged the T20 performance of the year. Chahal’s top-drawer spell had come in the series decider as India thumped England by 75 runs to win the three-match series 2-1.

READ | Virat Kohli batted amazing in Centurion Test vs South Africa, stats don’t tell full story


Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year: Virat Kohli (India)

ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year: Steve Smith (Australia)

ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year: Virat Kohli (India)

ICC Men’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year: Hasan Ali (Pakistan)

ICC Men’s Associate Cricketer of the Year: Rashid Khan (Afghanistan)

ICC Men’s T20I Performance of the Year: Yuzvendra Chahal (India) (6/25 v England)

David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year: Marais Erasmus

ICC Spirit of Cricket: Anya Shrubsole (England)

ICC Fans Moment of the Year: Pakistan stun India to win the ICC Champions Trophy 2017.

Soumitra Bose (

First Published: Jan 18, 2018 13:45 IST