Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 21, 2018-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Where are the women DUSU?

For the first time in over a decade, no woman is elected to the DUSU panel. Alumni blames the new rules.

education Updated: Sep 12, 2011 00:17 IST
Namya Sinha
Namya Sinha
Hindustan Times

As the new Delhi University Students’ Union was elected into office on Saturday, it was hard to believe that no woman was elected into the panel. Not only has the union had at least one female member on the panel every year, in the last decade it has had five women presidents too. The reason for the miss this time, say former members, could be the new rules which did not allow parties to put up glamorous posters of candidates.

“I am just shocked! All I can say is that the Lyngdoh restrictions were one of the main reasons. Posters with pretty faces really matter in such an election,” says Nupur Sharma, DUSU President, 2008-2009. Ragini Nayak, DUSU president 2005-2006, says the restrictions on campaigning were a setback for the female candidates. “Since only a limited number of posters were allowed, campaigning in 51 colleges had to be done in just 5 or 6 days. Guys are more aggressive at such campaigning,” she says.

Low profile campaigning also effected the voter turnout explains Alka Lamba, DUSU President 1995-1996. “The voter turnout was very low and I have a feeling that girls did not vote this time. During my time, I won because girls came out in huge numbers to vote for me,” she adds.

Leading ladies of DUSU

2011: No woman elected for the DUSU panel
2010: Priya Dabas (ABVP), Vice President, Neetu Dabas (ABVP), Secretary
2009: Kriti Wadhera (ABVP),Vice president
2008: Nupur Sharma (ABVP), President
2007: Amrita Bahri (NSUI), President
2006: Amrita Dhawan (NSUI), President
2005: Ragini Nayak (NSUI), President
2004: Amrita Dhawan (NSUI), Secretary (NSUI)
2003: Ragini Nayak (NSUI), Secretary
2002: Deepti Rawat (ABVP), Secretary
2001: Neetu Verma (NSUI), President

First Published: Sep 11, 2011 15:01 IST