Manipur Assembly election results: BJP ahead in 6 seats; Congress trails with 1

Mar 10, 2022 09:40 AM IST

Manipur Assembly election results: Manipur held voting in two phases – February 27, March 3.

Counting of votes for the recently held Assembly election in Manipur is underway under tight security. According to early trends updated on the Election Commission's website, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is leading in six seats. State chief minister and senior BJP leader is ahead in his home turf Heingang by 2598. While in Radheshyam Singh leading is ahead in Heirok seat by 109 votes. In Thanga, T Robindro Singh is leading.  Meanwhile, the Congress is leading on one and Janata Dal (United) is ahead on two.

BJP office in Imphal preparing to celebrate a likely win.
BJP office in Imphal preparing to celebrate a likely win.

Click here for live updates on counting in Manipur

The EC officials calculated the postal ballots till 8:30am, following which votes polled in EVMs are being counted in 41 counting halls across 12 dedicated centres.

To maximise transparency in the counting process, 41 general observers, besides returning officers are on supervising duty. “The strong rooms have round-the-clock CCTV coverage, and inspection was carried out on a daily basis,” said district election officer Th Kirankumar. As many as 3,45,481 of the total 3,80,480 votes were cast on EVMs in the northeastern state.

Earlier in the day, chief minister N Biren Singh offered prayers at a temple in Imphal. He is contesting from the Heingang constituency.

Voting for the 60-member Assembly was held in two phases on February 28 and March 5. Political parties are required to cross the majority mark of 31 to form the next government.

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Wednesday, May 31, 2023
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals