BJP’s focus on Mathura pays dividend as party grabs all seats

Mar 11, 2022 12:03 AM IST

Once again, Mathura put its trust in the BJP, which performed better than the 2017 assembly elections. The BJP won all five assembly seats in Mathura, including Mathura, Chhata, Baldev, Mant, and Goverdhan.

Home to Sri Krishna Janmbhoomi — the birthplace of Lord Krishna — Mathura once again reposed its trust in BJP, which performed even better than the 2017 assembly elections. In this election, BJP managed to win all the five assembly seats of Mathura including Mathura, Chhata, Baldev, Mant and Goverdhan.

Sri Krishna Janambhoomi temple in Mathura. (HT FILE PHOTO)
Sri Krishna Janambhoomi temple in Mathura. (HT FILE PHOTO)

Two of the ministers in the Yogi Adityanath cabinet, Shrikant Sharma and Chaudhary Laxmi Narain, won in their constituencies and so did the other BJP candidates. BJP also won the Mant assembly seat which it had never won in Mathura since independence.

We're now on WhatsApp. Click to join.

In the 2017 state assembly elections, BJP had won 4 out of 5 assembly seats in Mathura. Chief minister Yogi Adityanath visited Mathura about 20 times in his five-year term and had created Braj Teerth Vikas Parishad for the development of the temple city.

Mathura city and other spots linked to the life of Lord Krishna were declared ‘teerth’ (pilgrimage) and voices were raised in support of a new grand temple at Sri Krishna Janambhoomi on the pattern of the Ram temple coming up in Ayodhya and Kashi Vishwanath Dham in Varanasi. Mathura district had two MLAs as a minister in the UP cabinet. Before the elections, there were also speculations that CM Yogi might contest from Mathura but he chose to instead contest from Gorakhpur.

The results on Thursday reflected that Mathura voters were in a mood to pay back by the way of votes to CM and BJP maintained its lead in all five seats since the start of the counting in the morning.

Most interesting result was of Mant assembly constituency from where BSP candidate Shyam Sundar Sharma has won eight times. The story changed this time, as BJP’s Rajesh Chaudhary won from Mant assembly seat defeating BSP candidate Shyam Sundar Sharma, while SP candidate Sanjay Lathar came third.

"Exciting news! Hindustan Times is now on WhatsApp Channels Subscribe today by clicking the link and stay updated with the latest news!" Click here!

    Hemendra Chaturvedi is based in Agra serving as a Principal Correspondent, covering districts of Agra and Aligarh division of western Uttar Pradesh. He has been with HT since 1992 and has completed 25 year of association with HT.

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Monday, October 02, 2023
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals