Slumdog Millionaire wins top award at PGA Awards | entertainment | Hindustan Times
  • Tuesday, Jun 19, 2018
  •   °C  
Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 19, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Slumdog Millionaire wins top award at PGA Awards

Hailed as this year's Cinderella story, Slumdog Millionaire beat out Milk, The Dark Knight, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button and political drama Frost/Nixon to win the top honour at the Producers Guild of America Awards.

entertainment Updated: Jan 25, 2009 16:50 IST

"Slumdog Millionaire" scored top award from the Producers Guild of America (PGA), giving further momentum to its race for Oscars next month.

Film's producer Christian Colson was awarded with the Darryl F Zanuck producer of the year award at the ceremony, which was held at the Hollywood Palladium today.

Hailed as this year's Cinderella story, the film beat out "Milk", "The Dark Knight", "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" and political drama "Frost/Nixon" to win the top honour.

Directed by British filmmaker Danny Boyle, the film has already scored 10 Oscar nominations including the Best Picture, Best Director and three nominations for Indian music composer A R Rahman in two categories.

The film also bagged four prizes at the prestigious Golden Globe Awards earlier this month.

The PGA's choices are considered to be the most likely winner at the Oscars with its prediction for Best Picture getting 12 Academy Awards in the past 19 years.

The PGA Awards and Oscars had agreed last year on "No Country for Old Men", the Los Angeles Times reported.

Made with a small budget of only USD 14 million, "Slumdog Millionaire" has not only been the darling of award ceremonies but has already grossed USD 48 million in the US and is expected to exceed USD 80 million in total.

In another category, film "Wall-E" won the animated theatrical motion pictures while "Man On Wire" received the top documentary honour.

In television, "John Adams" won the David L Wolper producer of the year award and AMC's "Mad Men" took the prize for drama. The award for comedy went to TV drama "30 Rock".