Today in New Delhi, India
Jun 12, 2019-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

ICC Champions Trophy warm-up: New Zealand romp to 357-run target vs Sri Lanka

New Zealand chased down Sri Lanka’s 357-run target with 23 balls to spare in their ICC Champions Trophy 2017 warm-up match at Edgbaston on Tuesday

icc champions trophy 2017 Updated: May 31, 2017 00:00 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Champions Trophy 2017,ICC Champions Trophy,Sri Lanka vs New Zealand
Martin Guptill scored a 76-ball 116 before retiring out in New Zealand’s ICC Champions Trophy 2017 warm-up match against Sri Lanka.(REUTERS)

Sri Lanka scored a mammoth 356 but New Zealand put up a fearless display of batting to romp home with 23 balls remaining in their ICC Champions Trophy 2017 warm-up match at Edgbaston on Tuesday. (SCORECARD)

Put to bat, Sri Lanka rode a 104-ball 110 by Upul Tharanga and fifties from Kusal Mendis (57) and Dinesh Chandimal (55) to score 356 in their quota of 50 overs. As many as nine bowlers were used by New Zealand but on a ground with small boundaries, Sri Lanka had no problem scoring briskly.

Pacer Tim Southee took 2/48 in eight overs while left-arm spinner Mitchell Santner conceded only 34 in his six overs. This was one the biggest totals in Edgbaston but New Zealand’s chase got the perfect launch with opener Martin Guptill scoring a 76-ball 116 before retiring.

READ | Champions Trophy 2017: Chip and change, ICC introduces technology for batsmen

His partner Tom Latham missed out on a half-century when he was trapped leg-before by leg-spinner Seekkuge Prasanna on 44. Both Kiwi wickets to fall for the day went to Prasanna, who also got rid of Ross Taylor for 11.

New Zealand’s progress, however, wasn’t checked as captain Kane Williamson scored a 60-ball 88 (retired) before Neil Broom (37 n.o) and Corey Anderson (36-ball 50) combined to guide them to an easy win.

Brief scores: Sri Lanka 356/8 in 50 overs (U Tharanga 110, K Mendis 57, D Chandimal 55). New Zealand 359/4 in 46.1 overs (Martin Guptill 116 retired, Kane Williamson 88 retired, C Anderson 50 n.o). New Zealand won by six wickets.

First Published: May 30, 2017 23:59 IST