Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 17, 2018-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Law minister Ravi Shankar Prasad asks CJI Dipak Misra to name successor

Justice Ranjan Gogoi is the seniormost judge of the Supreme Court after CJI Dipak Misra.

india Updated: Aug 28, 2018 22:16 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Ravi Shankar Prasad,Dipak Misra,Supreme Court
CJI Dipak Misra retires on October 2.(PTI)

The Union law ministry has started the process of appointment of the new Chief Justice of India (CJI) to replace Dipak Misra, who retires on October 2, according to people familiar with the matter who asked not to be identified.

Traditionally, the CJI recommends the name of a successor to the law ministry a month before retirement, and this is usually the second-senior most judge of the Supreme Court.

If this practice is followed, justice Ranjan Gogoi will be the next CJI, becoming the first judge from the Northeast of the country to be elevated to the position. Justice Gogoi is to retire in November 2019.

Justice Misra is expected to send the recommendation by September 2, exactly a month before he retires.

Hindustan Times couldn’t immediately ascertain whether the law ministry has merely moved a file on the appointment internally, as one of the persons familiar with the matter suggested, or actually sent a letter to justice Misra, as another claimed.

When reached by Hindustan Times, the office of the CJI refused to comment on the matter.

Law minister Ravi Shankar Prasad couldn’t immediately be reached for comment because he is travelling in South America .

And a spokesperson of the law ministry declined to comment on the issue.

Justice Gogoi was one of the four judges who, in January, went public in a move unprecedented in Supreme Court history, and said they had issues with the way in which the CJI was allocating cases and running the court.

He joined the bar in 1978 and practised as an advocate in the Gauhati high court before being appointed as a judge. He was chief justice of the Punjab and Haryana high court before being elevated to the Supreme Court in 2012.

First Published: Aug 28, 2018 20:43 IST