Lok Sabha election 2019: AIUDF MP in Assam’s Barpeta may not contest

Hindustan Times, New Delhi | ByHT Correspondent
Apr 15, 2019 02:17 PM IST

The BJP has left the Barpeta seat for its ally AGP to fight it out with the AIUDF.

Barpeta Lok Sabha constituency in Assam will cast its vote in the 2019 election on April 23. It covers 10 assembly segments - Bongaigaon, Abhayapuri North, Abhayapuri South, Patacharkuchi, Barpeta, Jania, Baghbar, Sarukhetri, Chenga and Dharampur. The constituency is spread across Baksa, Barpeta, Bongaigaon, Chirang, Goalpara and Nalbari districts.

Barpeta’s Lok Sabha MP Sirajuddin Ajmal may not contest time because of ill health.(HT Photo)
Barpeta’s Lok Sabha MP Sirajuddin Ajmal may not contest time because of ill health.(HT Photo)

Sirajuddin Ajmal of the All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) and brother of the party’s founder Badruddin Ajmal defeated defeat BJP’s Chandra Mohan Patowary in the 2014 Lok Sabha election. Barpeta used to be a Congress stronghold but in 2014 the grand old party finished third.

Sirajuddin Ajmal has been unwell for some time and may not contest this time while the BJP has decided to leave the seat for its ally AGP.

As per the estimates of 2011 census, out of total 2400129 population 90.37% is rural and 9.63% is urban population. The Scheduled castes (SC) and Scheduled tribes (ST) ratio is 7.71 and 2.91, respectively out of total population.

Barpeta constituency is economically weak but politically very sensitive.

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Barpeta

Date of voting: April 23

2019 candidates: Abdul Khaleque (Congress), Rafiqul Islam (AIUDF), Kumar Deepak Das (AGP)

Sitting MP, Party: Sirajuddin Ajmal, AIUDF

Winning margin in 2014: 42,341 votes

Runner up name, party: Chandra Mohan Patowary, BJP

Number of voters in 2014: 1,430,175

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 84.32

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,906

Number of women voters: 674,61


Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Thursday, September 21, 2023
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals