MP election results 2023: Ministers Faggan Kulaste, Narottam Mishra trailing | Latest News India - Hindustan Times

MP election results 2023: Ministers Faggan Kulaste, Narottam Mishta and Cong's Jitu Patwari trailing

Dec 03, 2023 11:53 AM IST

MP Election Result: The Bharatiya Janata Party is leading in 155 seats as per ECI trends.

As the counting of votes in Madhya Pradesh is underway, some political stalwarts are trailing as per trends.

Madhya Pradesh home minister Narottam Mishra is currently trailing in his constituency Datia as per the Election Commission website. The Bharatiya Janata Party leader is trailing by 2,243 votes in the second round of counting against Rajendra Bharti of Congress.

Union minister Faggan Singh Kulaste is currently trailing from Niwas by over 11,500 votes. The BJP leader is among the three Union ministers, the other being Narendra Tomar and Prahlad Patel, fielded by the BJP in the assembly election.

MP assembly election result LIVE coverage

Congress leader Jitu Patwari is currently trailing from Rau. The former minister is behind by over 15,016 votes against Madhu Verma of the BJP.

Sanjay Shukla, the sitting MLA from Indore 1 is trailing by over 8,500 votes in the second round of counting. He is contesting against BJP's national general secretary Kailash Vijayvargiya.

Leader of Opposition Govind Singh is currently trailing in Lahar by a narrow margin of 1,304 votes. He is pitted against Ambrish Sharma ‘Guddu’ of the BJP. Singh is a seven-term MLA and served as minister of cooperatives, parliamentary affairs and general administration in the previous government led by Kamal Nath.

As per the latest ECI trends, the BJP is set to sweep Madhya Pradesh with the saffron party is currently leading on 155 seats. Chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan credited Prime Minister Narendra Modi for the win.

"PM Modi has “MP in his heart, MP has PM Modi in its heart,” Chouhan told reporters as the trends indicated a massive saffron sweep in the central state.

Madhya Pradesh BJP chief VD Sharma denied there was anti-incumbency in the state. “There was no anti-incumbency. Prime Minister Narendra Modi did immense work for SCs, STs. Our government worked for them. It is a blessing to PM Modi's 'Sabka Saath Sabka Vikas, Sabka Vishwas pledge," he said.

Counting of votes for the Madhya Pradesh Assembly elections underway at a centre in Jabalpur. (PTI)(HT_PRINT)
Counting of votes for the Madhya Pradesh Assembly elections underway at a centre in Jabalpur. (PTI)(HT_PRINT)

Unveiling 'Elections 2024: The Big Picture', a fresh segment in HT's talk show 'The Interview with Kumkum Chadha', where leaders across the political spectrum discuss the upcoming general elections. Watch Now!

Get Current Updates on India News, PM Narendra Modi Live Updates along with Latest News and Top Headlines from India and around the world
Share this article

    Follow the latest breaking news and developments from India and around the world with Hindustan Times' newsdesk. From politics and policies to the economy and the environment, from local issues to national events and global affairs, we've got you covered.

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Tuesday, March 05, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On