Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 19, 2019-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

YSR Congress to boycott Andhra assembly session, Jagan padayatra from Nov 6

In the last three years, as many as 20 MLAs of YSR Congress have defected to the Telugu Desam Party without resigning from their posts.

india Updated: Oct 26, 2017 18:07 IST
Srinivasa Rao Apparasu
Srinivasa Rao Apparasu
Hindustan Times, Hyderabad
YSR Congress,Telugu Desam Party,Andhra Pradesh assembly
The YSR Congress party of YS Jaganmohan Reddy said it will boycott all forthcoming sessions of the Andhra Pradesh assembly. (HT file photo)

The main opposition YSR Congress party said on Thursday it will boycott all forthcoming sessions of the Andhra Pradesh assembly if all 20 of its MLAs, who defected to the ruling Telugu Desam Party, are not disqualified immediately.

A decision to this effect was taken at the YSRC legislature party meeting in Hyderabad under president YS Jaganmohan Reddy. The winter session of the state assembly will begin on November 10.

“Since there is no possibility of the defected MLAs being disqualified in the near future, the assembly boycott will continue till the next elections,” a YSRC leader said.

YSRC is the only opposition party in the assembly and if it abstains from the sessions, it would be the first time that the state assembly will run without the opposition.

In the last three years, as many as 20 MLAs have defected to the TDP without resigning from their posts. And four of these defectors were given berths in the TDP cabinet even while continuing as the opposition MLAs.

“The latest bulletin issued by the assembly said the YSRC has 66 MLAs. Even four ministers were listed as members of YSRC. Are we part of a coalition government?” YSRC deputy floor leader in the assembly Peddireddy Ramachandra Reddy asked.

“The irony is those defectors inducted into the cabinet would be answering the questions we would be raising in the House. This is a travesty of democracy and the Speaker is deliberately deferring the decision on the fate of the defectors.”

He demanded that all the four ministers be sacked from the cabinet and be disqualified from the assembly along with other defected MLAs.

Citing precedence of opposition leaders not attending the assembly session, he gave the examples of NTR, J Jayalalithaa in the neighbouring Tamil Nadu, and even TDP president N Chandrababu Naidu.

The opposition party also finalised the schedule for Jagan’s six-month-long padayatra or foot march “Praja Sankalpa Yatra” (Tour for the welfare of people) that will begin on November 6.

The padayatra would be launched at Idupulapaya in Kadapa district and culminate at Ichchapuram covering 125 assembly constituencies over a distance of 3,000km.

The remaining 50 constituencies would be covered through on bus to complete the 13 districts of the state, party spokesperson Ummareddy Venkateshwarlu said.

During the foot march, Jagan will address 5,000 roadside meetings, 180 meetings with influential groups and 125 massive public meetings to reach out to two crore people.

“He will highlight the government’s failures during the padayatra, besides raising Issues regarding the plight of the farmers, waiver of farm loans and special category status,” the spokesperson added.

First Published: Oct 26, 2017 18:07 IST